2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dillastrate - EP Review: Narrative

12 Aug 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

I was excited to review Dillastrate after I saw them play live in Wellington recently and absolutely loved their energy and musicianship. I must admit I was playing catch-up from there, and after having had a quick listen to their previous album, I have to say that Narrative is definitely a step up; both in production value and over-all song crafting. There are some real bangers on this EP that are going straight onto my play list!

Kicking off with Through the Vein, Henare 'H' Kaa (drums, lead vox) and Tim Driver (keyboards, loops, vox) deliver a stonking introduction of what’s to follow. I’m loving the rock edge which is giving the track big Kora and L.A.B feels, and that clavi throughout is just perfect. A BIG song all round, giving the listener plenty to hold onto.

The popular June 2021 single Party in My Head follows with its inescapable infectiousness. Likeable from the very first listen, the simple acoustic guitar and keys intro is very nicely done. Kaa’s vocals are quite irresistible, as is the hook, which now has me humming along as the chorus bursts into life. The constraint shown in the editing room has really paid off, creating a lot of wonderful space in the track which allows it to really breathe and glide. The addition of the female vocal break by Emily C Browning feels like a delicate lace draped over a warm summer breeze. A tasteful and tasty track.

Scorch (Feat. LUIS) released in July 2021, has a decidedly international flava, with its slick production and classy looped keyboard riff showcasing just a wee slice of Driver’s skills. The song travels along, uncluttered and sophisticated, all the way to the finish line, with LUIS's flow playfully driving it forward.

Building on gains, Wax further showcases Driver’s talent on the keys. I find myself transported to a smoky bar room with a grand piano, cognac in hand, to allow this dreamy romantic track to fully seduce my senses.

Shake The Ground’s poignant piano intro ushers in a new seriousness that alludes to something much deeper and more significant here. The strings carry the emotion of the song through to the drop, which I felt could have possibly had more impact if the drums had been louder in the mix, or perhaps even busted out a bit more and really let loose.

Finishing out the EP is the easy-breezy club track For You. With a bit of a Drax Project vibe, I thought the EP could have ended with a bit more of a punch, but all of the bigger songs were set earlier in the track list. However, that’s possibly my old-school approach to album listening showing through!

All in all, a fantastic EP that should really turn some heads. This exceptionally talented pair, and their team, have made Narrative an absolute pleasure to review. Five Stars!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Dillastrate

Dillastrate just can’t sit still. Driven by a deep love for live performance, in two short years the New Zealand duo has completed a staggering nine national tours, tackling staple music festival stages including Northern Bass, Rhythm & Vines and Electric Avenue. A live performance by the duo ensures that no foot is left untapping, with entire venues transitioning from stationary to dancing-their-arses-off in a matter of one song.

Dillastrate describe their signature sound as neosoul pop – a product of intense refinement and humanizing machines, combining modern digital sounds with analogue soul to provide the best of both worlds. A heavy hat tip to funk legends Stevie Wonder and Michael Jackson mingles with current soul, hip-hop, jazz and electronic sounds that seems to leave audiences open-mouthed and itching for more.

Members Henare 'H' Kaa (drums, lead vocals) and Tim Driver (keyboards, loops, vocals) realized the potential for Dillastrate while playing together in multiple groups, including kiwi staples AHoriBuzz and Soulsystem. With the ability to perform using all the necessary instruments with just the two of them, Dillastrate are agile and determined to play for appreciative audiences wherever and whenever possible. As working session musicians, the pair have worked with an intimidating host of national and international acts, including members of The Rolling Stones and a host of New Zealand’s top talent.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dillastrate

Releases

Narrative
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Gig Review: Fur Patrol @ San Fran, Wellington - 27/08/2022
29 Aug 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I finally arrived at San Fran just on 8pm, a little grumpy after spending 30+ minutes driving around trying to find a park in Wellington city, where, like many other cities around New Zealand, the councils have decided to eliminate as many parking spaces as possible with bollards, flower pots, bus stops, loading zones, road works, or just by erecting scaffolding barriers for no apparent reason!! The venue was wall-to-wall full, and I marveled that all these people had managed to find parking spaces also.
Read More...
Heavy Chest x BENEE - Single Review: Sunday926
19 Jul 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying the new offering from Heavy Chest; a dreamy collab with BENEE, how exciting is that!? And a very new and different sound altogether for this band, led by the talented Andre Smith.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: Walk of Freedom
26 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Musician, Support Worker, Maori Customs Teacher, Non-violence Facilitator, and basically all-round amazing human being Riqi Harawira (aka ‘Creative Native’) presents his new single Walk of Freedom with accompanying music video on 24th June 2022. This will coincide with the release of the full-length feature film Whina – ‘A biopic of the trailblazing Maori leader, Dame Whina Cooper, whose extraordinary life saw her break gender boundaries, champion the rights of Maori, and fight for the land - all the while staying true to her heart and her beliefs.
Read More...
Skank Bandit - Single Review: Suck On That
25 May 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Taranaki band Skank Bandit are excited to be releasing new music once again, in the wake of all the Covid lockdowns, hold-ups, and disruption to the music scene. As soon as they were able to jam together in person, this track was the first song they wrote.
Read More...
Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michele Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem