18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra

22 Jul 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Dilz is real. He is authentic. And on his new track Resurrection featuring He Ra, he takes this to a new level.

I was lucky enough to speak with Dilz a while back for a podcast I run called A/muse, and right from the beginning of the interview, you could sense the authenticity that I mentioned at the beginning of this review. He and I had only just met, yet we both spoke the same language when it came to music.

So when I got to hear his new track, Resurrection, I was actually taken aback. Lyrically, he is very direct.

"People know that I am an open book, heart on my sleeve but at times that is overlooked. I use my music as a diary. Everything you're hearing is my life, that inspires me." It feels like the next chapter in Dilz story. The music sits in the background with a piano line that leads us down an emotional road where Dilz provides commentary for what has been happening in his life. And his delivery has a lot of versatility to it. He gets intense where needed but reflective when the song requires. The chorus hook sun by He Ra fits perfectly and adds to the ebb and flow, back and forth of his struggles and being reminded to just breathe in and breathe out. The music video that accompanies the track is well shot and works perfectly with the song.

Coming out of Foxton, he has worked with a passion and desire that is inspiring. His 2018 album Metamorphosis debuted at #2 on the New Zealand Hip Hop charts and he has racked up over half a million views on his YouTube platform alone. Dilz has a number of accolades under his belt including collaborating with Rhythm + Flow's runner up, Flawless Real Talk and one of Australia's biggest independent artists, Bmike. He has also worked with renown NZ artists such as Scribe, Smashproof, J Williams and Mikey Mayz.

With a growing fan base, this new track is going to attract more. When you stop and pay attention to the music and the heartfelt lyrics about his struggles, there is no way that you can deny that he really is the real thing. Authentic.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Dilz

Dilz is a 25 year old Hip Hop artist from New Zealand with a fresh voice and creative lyrics. Every day he is striving towards achieving his goal of creating the perfect balance between underground and mainstream music.

His album Metamorphosis debuted at #2 on the New Zealand Hip Hop charts and he has racked up over half a million views on his YouTube platform alone. Dilz has a number of accolades under his belt including collaborating with Rhythm + Flow's runner up, Flawless Real Talk and one of Australian's biggest independent artists, Bmike. He has also worked with renown NZ artists such as Scribe, Smashproof, J Williams and Mikey Mayz.

Dilz is no stranger to performing having headlined two national tours. He has also opened for the likes of Sid Diamond, Che Fu, Donell Lewis, Kennyon Brown, DJ Noiz, Lion Rezz, Lomez Brown, and completed a mini North Island tour with The Crusader himself, Scribe.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dilz

Releases

Metamorphosis
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Three And A Half Seas
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Scrapbook
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Renovation: Reconstruction
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Word Smith
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Hook Ups
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Renovation
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Wish Me Luck
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Better Days To Come
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Album Review: Rising w/ Huz
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Justin Sane has been DJing at clubs and events around the world since 1997, released countless remixes and bootlegs on numerous labels, hosted Party Hard Mix on The Edge for 5 years and had singles in the Top 20 New Zealand Singles Chart. In 2020, Justin Sane again teamed up with fellow singer/Songwriter Huz and began releasing music again, both tracks of which ended up in the #3 dance singles on iTunes and in the Top 30 overall NZ singles, one reaching the #10 spot.
Read More...
Stu J - Single Review: Destination Unknown
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A Kiwi-born musician, producer and DJ, Stu J loves to create energetic, up-beat indie-dance songs which have an electronic feel, but still include the best parts of rock and pop. His current music feels similar to artists like MGMT and Empire of the Sun.
Read More...
SuperFly Killa - Single Review: Hold I Down
10 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A vast array of interests, influences, and experiences have come together in an amalgamation of soul, reggae, Dub, and rock. SuperFly Killa are a fresh new sound who reside on the sunny shores of Gisborne, NZHold I Down is a fantastic, fantastic track!
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: Enjoy The Ride
29 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Enjoy The Ride showcases Rei’s diversity and prowess as a musician and producer with its mix of rap, pop, R&B and UK flavour, it’s a fusion of innovative styles. Written over the past 2 years, mixed and mastered by Kog Studio’s Chris Chetland and supported by NZ On Air, this project is a musical ride in itself.
Read More...
EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery
06 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section.
Read More...
Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem