15 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A

23 May 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam VAidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup.


This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.I.A.

M.I.A (produced by EDY) brings singer/emcee duo Sam V and Aidan Fine to the forefront in a punchy and energetic Hip-Hop record reflecting the duo's playful misdemeanours with relationships and infidelity.

The feel of the song gets you right away with the killer bass sound which is held up even more with the minimalist, yet grooving, drum sound. The vocals come at you from both sides in the hook and then in each verse, each MC gets a chance to demonstrate their flow It’s awesome. It feels like a supergroup. I wanna hear and see this live.

While the track is a little shorter than I would want, I definitely need to hear more. And you will too.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Y$O

Sam V, JARNA, Aidan Fine and BrokeBoi Ace work in tandem with producers EDY, M4 & CreationKit to form the most exciting young stable of talent in New Zealand. An eclectic blend of R&B and Hip Hop, the Y$O hounds look set to disrupt the airwaves of NZ with their string of upcoming releases. The first being a collaboration between Sam V and Aidan Fine (MIA).

Catch them before it's too late.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Y$O

Releases

There are no releases to display for Y$O.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem