17 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.

The latest track is something of a laid back affair while still providing the listener with a groove to flow along to. A guitar opens the song and sets you up with the chord progression. As it moves into the hook at the beginning you can tell that this is a song that will get stuck in your head. A simple, yet effective, melody line reinforces the title of the track. Through each verse, D.Matthews details his appreciation for his Melanin Skin Queen. His flow in the verse sounds great, real and authentic. Sure, there is a seasoning of auto-tune at times but nowadays this is a creative approach to the sound and it works here.

Overall, the afrobeat and the overall sound of the music and D.Matthews vocals make this a song that I could easily hear all over the radio. It is yet another song in his catalogue that continues to grow, while at the same time getting out there and performing where he can build his audience even further.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About D.Matthews

Nigerian vocalist & songwriter, D.Matthews has curated his own brand of motivational & energetic calm Afrobeat & Afropop driven by the beats of Africa. He blends traditional African elements with global mainstream pop for a sound that's heartfelt and fascinating. His stage presence itself carries a lot of weight.

D.Matthews cites Afrobeat Music Pioneer, Fela Kuti, Burna Boy and fellow Nigerian singer-songwriter WizKid as musical influences.

In addition, D.Matthews has been added in billboard magazine’s “upcoming musician” in recent years. Following up with other music articles.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for D.Matthews

Releases

There are no releases to display for D.Matthews.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem