25 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.

The latest track is something of a laid back affair while still providing the listener with a groove to flow along to. A guitar opens the song and sets you up with the chord progression. As it moves into the hook at the beginning you can tell that this is a song that will get stuck in your head. A simple, yet effective, melody line reinforces the title of the track. Through each verse, D.Matthews details his appreciation for his Melanin Skin Queen. His flow in the verse sounds great, real and authentic. Sure, there is a seasoning of auto-tune at times but nowadays this is a creative approach to the sound and it works here.

Overall, the afrobeat and the overall sound of the music and D.Matthews vocals make this a song that I could easily hear all over the radio. It is yet another song in his catalogue that continues to grow, while at the same time getting out there and performing where he can build his audience even further.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About D.Matthews

Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews has curated his own brand of motivational rap & energetic beats from Africa, called, "Afrobeat"

D.Matthews is well known for his idiosyncratic style and abundant charisma, D.Matthews aims to inspire listeners through his stimulating lyrics and lively blend of Trap & Afrobeats. He cites Afrobeat singer, Burna Boy, alternative neo-soul songstresses Kehlani and Tinashe and fellow Nigerian singer-songwriter WizKid as musical influences.

Born in Ibadan, Oyo State, D.Matthews knew he was destined to entertain from a young age, singing and dancing when he returned from church. He went on to launch his music career at the age of 20 after the realisation of the steps he’s been making from the earlier days of his life back home.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for D.Matthews

Releases

There are no releases to display for D.Matthews.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem