13 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.

The latest track is something of a laid back affair while still providing the listener with a groove to flow along to. A guitar opens the song and sets you up with the chord progression. As it moves into the hook at the beginning you can tell that this is a song that will get stuck in your head. A simple, yet effective, melody line reinforces the title of the track. Through each verse, D.Matthews details his appreciation for his Melanin Skin Queen. His flow in the verse sounds great, real and authentic. Sure, there is a seasoning of auto-tune at times but nowadays this is a creative approach to the sound and it works here.

Overall, the afrobeat and the overall sound of the music and D.Matthews vocals make this a song that I could easily hear all over the radio. It is yet another song in his catalogue that continues to grow, while at the same time getting out there and performing where he can build his audience even further.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About D.Matthews

Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews has curated his own brand of motivational rap & energetic beats from Africa, called, "Afrobeat"

D.Matthews is well known for his idiosyncratic style and abundant charisma, D.Matthews aims to inspire listeners through his stimulating lyrics and lively blend of Trap & Afrobeats. He cites Afrobeat singer, Burna Boy, alternative neo-soul songstresses Kehlani and Tinashe and fellow Nigerian singer-songwriter WizKid as musical influences.

Born in Ibadan, Oyo State, D.Matthews knew he was destined to entertain from a young age, singing and dancing when he returned from church. He went on to launch his music career at the age of 20 after the realisation of the steps he’s been making from the earlier days of his life back home.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for D.Matthews

Releases

There are no releases to display for D.Matthews.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem