11 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

JAN - Single Review: Wud?

06 Mar 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham. Best described as chilled trap, in that it’s got a cool vibe about it with the signature hi-hat feel, this song really understands what it wants to do. It is a stand-out for me in that Wud? is ultimately taking elements from some other areas like vocal pop, soul, and of course, trap, and melds it together in a way that works very well.

The reverb and delay laden guitar with its EQ slightly tilted in the intro to give the beginning a vinyl sound is a nice touch. When everything comes together with wonderfully recorded vocals, catchy hook and its chilled beat filled with music, it ends up sounding perfect for radio play. It’s not aggressive in any way, it’s simply a dialogue between two people both asking questions to each other.

Wud? is not ground-breaking by any stretch of the imagination, but its enjoyable and relaxed vibe will give it mass appeal.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About JAN

JAN is a 22 year old songwriter and producer from Wellington, New Zealand. Listeners are taken through sonic snapshots of life in the form of modern Bedroom Pop songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JAN

Releases

There are no releases to display for JAN.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem