11 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

JAN - Single Review: Wud?

06 Mar 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham. Best described as chilled trap, in that it’s got a cool vibe about it with the signature hi-hat feel, this song really understands what it wants to do. It is a stand-out for me in that Wud? is ultimately taking elements from some other areas like vocal pop, soul, and of course, trap, and melds it together in a way that works very well.

The reverb and delay laden guitar with its EQ slightly tilted in the intro to give the beginning a vinyl sound is a nice touch. When everything comes together with wonderfully recorded vocals, catchy hook and its chilled beat filled with music, it ends up sounding perfect for radio play. It’s not aggressive in any way, it’s simply a dialogue between two people both asking questions to each other.

Wud? is not ground-breaking by any stretch of the imagination, but its enjoyable and relaxed vibe will give it mass appeal.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About JAN

JAN is a 22 year old songwriter and producer from Wellington, New Zealand. Listeners are taken through sonic snapshots of life in the form of modern Bedroom Pop songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JAN

Releases

There are no releases to display for JAN.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem