18 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road

30 Jan 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.

His flow here is incredible. It feels authentic and real. A couple of times it sounds like he is almost out of breath due to the honesty and intensity of his delivery. Don't mistake me here: he's not yelling or screaming, he is simply feeling it and getting into the performance. And you can understand why - that beat with a low synth holding the bass and chord progression moving creates a sense of emotion that is only amplified with that rap delivery.

This is a heartfelt track where Will is questioning a lot of life's lessons and reflecting on what he has learnt, explaining it to all of us using metaphors and similes.

One Way Road is a standout track that doesn't need a chorus repeated over and over again. There is a hook, but it only complements the message of the track.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Will McClean is a Hip-Hop artist from Wellington, New Zealand.

Will McClean has been gaining traction around the country over the past two years as vocalist/rapper from Wellington band, The Zooks.

McClean’s rap style is mellow but precise; taking time to say what matters; and by taking a look through his discography you’ll find a blend of conscious lyrics over smooth instrumentals; mixed in with the occasional heavier hip-hop track.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

Live At The Surgery
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Can't Sleep, I'm Dreaming
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Calm Before The Now
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem