27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road

30 Jan 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.

His flow here is incredible. It feels authentic and real. A couple of times it sounds like he is almost out of breath due to the honesty and intensity of his delivery. Don't mistake me here: he's not yelling or screaming, he is simply feeling it and getting into the performance. And you can understand why - that beat with a low synth holding the bass and chord progression moving creates a sense of emotion that is only amplified with that rap delivery.

This is a heartfelt track where Will is questioning a lot of life's lessons and reflecting on what he has learnt, explaining it to all of us using metaphors and similes.

One Way Road is a standout track that doesn't need a chorus repeated over and over again. There is a hook, but it only complements the message of the track.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Born and raised with the perfect balance of city and coastal living, Will McClean has been grinding in a basement working out his place in this world with the help of a pen and some words.

With three EP’s released in 2019 on Soundcloud, and one in January 2020. Will has been busy working on his craft.

Taking inspiration from artists such as Mac Miller, J Cole and Tom Scott to name a few; his laid back style is intertwined with message to spread peace and love to other humans and to this earth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

Can't Sleep, I'm Dreaming
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem