18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

And$um - EP Review: Late Nights

29 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project. The selection of beats are varied and tasty, provided a solid backdrop where his rapping style works perfectly.

On the opening track Busy On A Wednesday, the Rhodes and bass hold this chill vibe as the lyrics question 'busy on a Wednesday?'. I thoroughly enjoyed this track.

With a few artists featured on the EP, it's great to hear others contribute to the sound of And$um. At its core, it's a mix between multiple styles of hip-hop and rap and yet still remains completely accessible. With features from Candice Miller, Hybrid Rose and Laura Lee, these features truly add something to the tracks.

One of the turning points is the fourth track when it changes up and has more of an urban beat and feel to it. Time is probably one of the greatest tracks here. When Laura's voice comes in just at the right time, it really helps drive the narrative and feel of the track. Excellent writing here.

And talking about mix of styles, the guitar in Feel The Same sounds awesome and again changes the vibes around. What I appreciate with And$um is his attention to detail and how to approach the beats he uses for his tracks. Hybrid Rose's contribution, again like others, is perfect and sounds fantastic.

Closing up with the final track Spend Some Time, the EP is a great six tracks that further add to his catalogue of music available online.

Highly recommended, I suggest you get some headphones on and listen from beginning to end.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About And$um

Hailing from the sleepy port town of Lyttelton, And$um is an explosive young hip-hop artist beginning to carve out a real identity.

2019 has been a big step forward for the Christchurch artist. With two full length projects released racking up over 100,000 streams and being included in a variety of Spotify editorial playlists, including the official New Music Friday.

And$um describes his music as "authentic", and seeks to talk about his personal experiences in a relatable way. With a tendency for up-tempo head-bobbing songs, And$um wants to have fun with his music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for And$um

Releases

Late Nights
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Vol. 1
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem