3 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

And$um - EP Review: Late Nights

29 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project. The selection of beats are varied and tasty, provided a solid backdrop where his rapping style works perfectly.

On the opening track Busy On A Wednesday, the Rhodes and bass hold this chill vibe as the lyrics question 'busy on a Wednesday?'. I thoroughly enjoyed this track.

With a few artists featured on the EP, it's great to hear others contribute to the sound of And$um. At its core, it's a mix between multiple styles of hip-hop and rap and yet still remains completely accessible. With features from Candice Miller, Hybrid Rose and Laura Lee, these features truly add something to the tracks.

One of the turning points is the fourth track when it changes up and has more of an urban beat and feel to it. Time is probably one of the greatest tracks here. When Laura's voice comes in just at the right time, it really helps drive the narrative and feel of the track. Excellent writing here.

And talking about mix of styles, the guitar in Feel The Same sounds awesome and again changes the vibes around. What I appreciate with And$um is his attention to detail and how to approach the beats he uses for his tracks. Hybrid Rose's contribution, again like others, is perfect and sounds fantastic.

Closing up with the final track Spend Some Time, the EP is a great six tracks that further add to his catalogue of music available online.

Highly recommended, I suggest you get some headphones on and listen from beginning to end.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About And$um

Hailing from the sleepy port town of Lyttelton, And$um is an explosive young hip-hop artist beginning to carve out a real identity.

2019 has been a big step forward for the Christchurch artist. With two full length projects released racking up over 100,000 streams and being included in a variety of Spotify editorial playlists, including the official New Music Friday.

And$um describes his music as "authentic", and seeks to talk about his personal experiences in a relatable way. With a tendency for up-tempo head-bobbing songs, And$um wants to have fun with his music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for And$um

Releases

Late Nights
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Vol. 1
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem