28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BENEE - Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020

17 Oct 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see. Having followed her since hearing Soaked and being so impressed by how clever it was as a pop song on the radio, I also was very excited and interested to see her at Spark Arena. Only last year I had seen her at the Powerstation, and now, here she is on one of the biggest stages in Auckland.

The opening acts Tom Verberne and Muroki entertained the crowd with contrasting sets and sounds. The first was more of a pop/indie/rock outfit which really energised people and set the scene. Muroki, on the other hand, was way more chill but in a great way. Together, these acts help build that anticipation of seeing BENEE.

As the stage was being cleared I strolled around and was just smiling the whole time. Kids of all ages were wearing their newly purchased hoodies, jumping up and down with excitement and it truly was infectious. The arena had been set up to allow anyone to go and either sit down in the lower bowl or stand in the GA area. Either way, it was certainly a family-friendly environment and I applaud that.

As the show began, the huge white sheet that had been set up to hide the stage started to light up red, the subs booming and literally rattling the phone in my hands as I took notes. I was down the back behind the sound desk in the lower bowl. It was loud, but wonderfully so. BENEE ran up on stage in front of the sheet and immediately interacted with the crowd who moments ago had been so excited and amped up via a Mexican wave that had preceded the beginning. With her voice wonderfully mixed and delivered with perfection, the first two tracks Tough Guy and Wishful Thinking were mellow and vibing. Although, during the end of Tough Guy the band (including BENEE) were silhouetted before it dropped, showing a very minimal stage of just the band (drums, guitar and bass) along with two trees, no leaves, just branches.

Behind BENEE was a huge display, one you would expect to see on an international tour. Even though that was the case, BENEE remained cool calm and collected. Consistently interacting with her crowd, including handing the mic down for someone to sing during Drifting, it was fantastic to see her so relaxed and able to perform at her best. Instead of jumping around like crazy and overdoing it, her demeanour was one of being grateful and humbled by what was happening all around her. Even her band just stayed chill, moving around and playing perfectly. There was really only one time any choreography between them occurred in which they all kind of just jumped up a little bit during Afterlife, but ultimately, it was just cool fun only echoed further by the fact the whole band was wearing kitty ears. BENEE often meowed into the mic between songs. Everyone that was there loved it.

There were a lot of new additions to be heard too, including a track featuring Muroki earlier in the night. Hints of drum and bass at times during a new track called Happened To Me along with plenty of guitar solos was nice to hear, each new track bought something different and new, expanding her sound which in my mind has already demonstrated a lot of diversity.

"Party Vote Green!" BENEE proclaimed at one point, telling the audience how excited she is to get to vote and that everyone should. The small talk between songs was very limited and the group were eager to keep the music coming which was awesome. Her 70-minute set was excellent and felt shorter.

When Glitter came on towards the end, everyone was dancing and singing a lot louder, as they had with Soaked, but this time they were all dancing together in unison. I had to stop and look around to see it. It truly was something magical, almost like from a movie or musical. Seeing everyone around me smiling so much was a wonderful thing and BENEE really was there to help everyone get into a great mood. Finishing with Superlonely was a great way to wrap the show up for the night.

Of course, it didn't stop there. She was back before you know it but did something totally unexpected. Playing Sheesh and Snail - both of these tracks were way more EDM influenced and only had the guitarist up, but now playing keyboards.

She thanked the crowd one last time and the house lights came up while everyone started to wake their small kids up and get them home to bed. Yet, there were people of all ages, all showing signs of having a great time. It was wonderful to see.

BENEE is a true star in my eyes. Coupled with a super tight band that sounds organic and real, along with fantastic and well-crafted songs, she blends pop/alt/indie in a way that appeals to so many people from all walks of life. And having seen her the year before at the Powerstation, it was so awesome to see her have so much fun commanding the bigger stage.

Make sure you go along and check her out when you can. It was an incredible night.


Photos Credit: Reef Reid of RADAR Photography
Photos were taken of BENEE's Wellington show at Shed 6 on 8 October 2020. View the full gallery here.

 

About BENEE

BENEE is the dreamy voice of a disaffected generation who broke through in 2020 with Supalonely, her irresistible, four billion streaming alt-pop banger that practically defined the pandemic experience.

Twenty-two-year-old Stella Bennett mixes her deeply heartfelt reflections on life in suburban Auckland, New Zealand with offbeat and often whimsical lyrical notions, all produced with a technicolor ear for cooked beats and unpredictable hooks. A fervent online following were drawn to BENEE’s two intriguing EP releases, Fire On Marzz and Stella & Steve, before her guest-packed, yet highly personal, Hey U X album was released at the tail end of 2020.

The album was a vibrant musical world with guests ranging from Grimes and Lily Allen to Gus Dapperton and Muroki (another New Zealand teen BENEE has since signed to her own label, Olive). It was listed as one of Billboard’s '25 Best Pop Albums of 2020', noting that BENEE “contemplates the woes of Gen Z with a keen ear for choruses and arrangements that oscillate between indie rock and hyperpop.” Stereogum praised its “quirky but impeccably produced pop music” and Vogue called it “13 tracks of heavenly indie-alt-pop.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BENEE

Releases

Lychee
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Fire On Marzz
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Stella & Steve
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem