19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Khemikal - Single Review: Unity

18 Sep 2020 // A review by Carl Hayman

Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.

When I opened the new single Unity from Hamilton duo Khemikal I had (to my good fortune) just been in a Zoom meeting and so I had my speakers turned right up. The song slapped me across the face like a fight scene out the Netflix series Kingdom.

Honestly? – the best 2 minutes 37 of my week (about 8 times over back to back).

I am struggling to figure how a duo sounds like about a 6-piece band. I hear drums, guitar, bass, samples, rapping, and singing. In my head I see what I assume live looks like Linkin Park.

On that note, the sound is probably quite a good likeness to Linkin Park, but it’s just a touch more intricate, and a touch heavier, more-so like POD but with some added Chester Bennington flavour.

The tune is incredibly well mixed and produced. It sounds huge – very much like it’s come out of one of the big mastering studios in the US like Sterling Sound.

There is no downtime through the song, straight into a verse (more of a pre-chorus) with rapping, and some very cool drumming which I’m assuming is programmed, but either way, its impressive. A cool little bell hits, and a good groove. The chorus is big and catchy and has all the elements of a great rock tune. A good amount of repetition without being boring. About 2/3rds of the way through the tune there is a very brief breakdown just to mix it up, but shortly after, that big chorus hits you again.

My only criticism from a rock guy perspective is that I would have LOVED to hear a guitar solo in there, and I would have loved another 30 seconds to a minute of length. It’s a great song, it could definitely be drawn out a little bit longer without being offensive.

Honestly? a great tune guys. Looking forward to hearing more of you in future, and I’ll keep an eye out for a live show given I’m in your hometown.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Khemikal

Khemikal is Chris Prenter and Adrian Hastie, hard hitting and not afraid to go to dark places.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Khemikal

Releases

Justice
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem