20 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Khemikal - Single Review: Unity

18 Sep 2020 // A review by Carl Hayman

Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.

When I opened the new single Unity from Hamilton duo Khemikal I had (to my good fortune) just been in a Zoom meeting and so I had my speakers turned right up. The song slapped me across the face like a fight scene out the Netflix series Kingdom.

Honestly? – the best 2 minutes 37 of my week (about 8 times over back to back).

I am struggling to figure how a duo sounds like about a 6-piece band. I hear drums, guitar, bass, samples, rapping, and singing. In my head I see what I assume live looks like Linkin Park.

On that note, the sound is probably quite a good likeness to Linkin Park, but it’s just a touch more intricate, and a touch heavier, more-so like POD but with some added Chester Bennington flavour.

The tune is incredibly well mixed and produced. It sounds huge – very much like it’s come out of one of the big mastering studios in the US like Sterling Sound.

There is no downtime through the song, straight into a verse (more of a pre-chorus) with rapping, and some very cool drumming which I’m assuming is programmed, but either way, its impressive. A cool little bell hits, and a good groove. The chorus is big and catchy and has all the elements of a great rock tune. A good amount of repetition without being boring. About 2/3rds of the way through the tune there is a very brief breakdown just to mix it up, but shortly after, that big chorus hits you again.

My only criticism from a rock guy perspective is that I would have LOVED to hear a guitar solo in there, and I would have loved another 30 seconds to a minute of length. It’s a great song, it could definitely be drawn out a little bit longer without being offensive.

Honestly? a great tune guys. Looking forward to hearing more of you in future, and I’ll keep an eye out for a live show given I’m in your hometown.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Khemikal

Khemikal is Chris Prenter and Adrian Hastie, hard hitting and not afraid to go to dark places.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Khemikal

Releases

Justice
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem