19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon

24 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.

All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything. It really feels like it continues to get bigger and bigger. All the parts are clearly mixed and work together to create this massive wall of sound that I can only imagine would sound absolutely killer live. And in fact, I believe that that idea of sounding great live has driven the album. Each and every song, in my mind, sounds like something that was destined to be performed and experienced on a huge sound system with the energy of a live audience.

Tracks like Uh Oh and Oil and Water provide more evidence of this point. The way that the music drives forward with each area of focus so refined, it is clear that a lot of time and effort has been put into this. Greg Haver's production here with the band offers so much and upon multiple listens you will notice subtle musical nods to all sorts of influences.

The album also provides room to breathe with tracks like Bassano Sky with its gentle guitar ostinato building up to an explosive start. The marching drum snare works so well here, nods of U2 style guitars show up from here and there. And again, even here on these tracks, there is so much energy waiting to explode. It is fantastic and inspiring.

One note of interest to me personally is on the track Three Days In March there was a note in the chorus melody that kept of getting my ear, and yet, it wasn't until the bridge that I figured out how that note made sense to the whole song. I am a big fan of moments like this, so kudos. Well played. There is also the track Tea and Toast which I will leave for you to experience. But yeah, I am also not a child of the iPad.

Overall, this album is an absolute blast from start to finish. The album sings out for that live crowd and yet it has been recorded, performed and mixed so perfectly well that you feel it on the album when you have the stereo cranked up. Not to be missed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • SWEET & SOUR
    Jawsh 685 feat. Lauv And Tyga
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem