27 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon

24 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.

All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything. It really feels like it continues to get bigger and bigger. All the parts are clearly mixed and work together to create this massive wall of sound that I can only imagine would sound absolutely killer live. And in fact, I believe that that idea of sounding great live has driven the album. Each and every song, in my mind, sounds like something that was destined to be performed and experienced on a huge sound system with the energy of a live audience.

Tracks like Uh Oh and Oil and Water provide more evidence of this point. The way that the music drives forward with each area of focus so refined, it is clear that a lot of time and effort has been put into this. Greg Haver's production here with the band offers so much and upon multiple listens you will notice subtle musical nods to all sorts of influences.

The album also provides room to breathe with tracks like Bassano Sky with its gentle guitar ostinato building up to an explosive start. The marching drum snare works so well here, nods of U2 style guitars show up from here and there. And again, even here on these tracks, there is so much energy waiting to explode. It is fantastic and inspiring.

One note of interest to me personally is on the track Three Days In March there was a note in the chorus melody that kept of getting my ear, and yet, it wasn't until the bridge that I figured out how that note made sense to the whole song. I am a big fan of moments like this, so kudos. Well played. There is also the track Tea and Toast which I will leave for you to experience. But yeah, I am also not a child of the iPad.

Overall, this album is an absolute blast from start to finish. The album sings out for that live crowd and yet it has been recorded, performed and mixed so perfectly well that you feel it on the album when you have the stereo cranked up. Not to be missed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Horizon
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem