28 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me

24 Jun 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wow! Hit repeat. Let me do that again.

Ekko Park's new track All Eyes On Me is a huge powerful track that will capture your attention right away.

That is how I feel about this track. Rip roaring guitars that are perfectly balanced in the mix along with the bass and guitar just fully smash you in the face. And that is a good thing. Oh god yes. One thing I love about rock like this is I can feel it, yet at the same time I can digest it and explore its secrets to how it's put together.

One thing is for sure; the energy. The amount of energy on this single is huge. This is because the drums, bass and guitar all drive the same rhythm, and seldom do we hear any layered guitar. But, when it is there it's used to effect to help expand out certain parts and give sections new life.

Vocals are clear cut and sit in the mix well. The almost telephone effect during the verse helps make them soar in the chorus when they come to life big and bold, layered and with harmonies there to support the melody.

What I enjoyed so much about this song is there is a clear vision of what they wanted from it and it's been executed to perfection. I can totally imagine a crowd getting into this one.

A top track that will get you right away. Absolutely a banger!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Horizon
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem