12 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me

24 Jun 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wow! Hit repeat. Let me do that again.

Ekko Park's new track All Eyes On Me is a huge powerful track that will capture your attention right away.

That is how I feel about this track. Rip roaring guitars that are perfectly balanced in the mix along with the bass and guitar just fully smash you in the face. And that is a good thing. Oh god yes. One thing I love about rock like this is I can feel it, yet at the same time I can digest it and explore its secrets to how it's put together.

One thing is for sure; the energy. The amount of energy on this single is huge. This is because the drums, bass and guitar all drive the same rhythm, and seldom do we hear any layered guitar. But, when it is there it's used to effect to help expand out certain parts and give sections new life.

Vocals are clear cut and sit in the mix well. The almost telephone effect during the verse helps make them soar in the chorus when they come to life big and bold, layered and with harmonies there to support the melody.

What I enjoyed so much about this song is there is a clear vision of what they wanted from it and it's been executed to perfection. I can totally imagine a crowd getting into this one.

A top track that will get you right away. Absolutely a banger!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Horizon
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem