26 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me

24 Jun 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wow! Hit repeat. Let me do that again.

Ekko Park's new track All Eyes On Me is a huge powerful track that will capture your attention right away.

That is how I feel about this track. Rip roaring guitars that are perfectly balanced in the mix along with the bass and guitar just fully smash you in the face. And that is a good thing. Oh god yes. One thing I love about rock like this is I can feel it, yet at the same time I can digest it and explore its secrets to how it's put together.

One thing is for sure; the energy. The amount of energy on this single is huge. This is because the drums, bass and guitar all drive the same rhythm, and seldom do we hear any layered guitar. But, when it is there it's used to effect to help expand out certain parts and give sections new life.

Vocals are clear cut and sit in the mix well. The almost telephone effect during the verse helps make them soar in the chorus when they come to life big and bold, layered and with harmonies there to support the melody.

What I enjoyed so much about this song is there is a clear vision of what they wanted from it and it's been executed to perfection. I can totally imagine a crowd getting into this one.

A top track that will get you right away. Absolutely a banger!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem