31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus

22 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding. With a clear mix, clean and powerful bass that compliments the rest of the spectrum, it gives Chris' voice the ability to sit perfectly there.

Chris' vocals are delivered perfectly, with emotion and feeling that feels real and not forced. The head voice is well controlled in the chorus and the smooth vocal of the verse and chorus give the song a really international pop feel to it. You can definitely hear the influences of Diplo here and I am reminded at times of the verses from the track Where Are U Now from Skrillex and Diplo.

Overall, the combination of excellent production skills along with a clever pop sensibility, you have a track that easily stands up against today's modern pop hits.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Chris Bates

Described as New Zealand’s "pop prince" by his peers, Chris Bates is a 21-year-old singer known for his silky smooth vocals and intricate pop melodies. His influences range from artists such as Charlie Puth, Bruno Mars and John Mayer, to older artists like Phil Collins.

Hailing from a childhood background of classical violin, much to his mother’s dismay Bates made the switch to pop music at age 13. "It’s my Dad’s fault." Bates remembers long family car trips in which they would listen to his dad’s pop/rock CDs. It was during these rides that Bates grew a deep love for songwriting and pop music.

He began writing a string of songs that he performed at open mic nights around Auckland, testing the waters. Entering a variety of competitions including Smokefree Rockquest and busking regularly, Bates started to become known in the Auckland music scene. In 2015 he was recognised with the Rising Star Award from the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand, joining winners including Annie Crummer, Lizzy Marvelly and Lisa Crawley.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chris Bates

Releases

There are no releases to display for Chris Bates.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem