4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus

22 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding. With a clear mix, clean and powerful bass that compliments the rest of the spectrum, it gives Chris' voice the ability to sit perfectly there.

Chris' vocals are delivered perfectly, with emotion and feeling that feels real and not forced. The head voice is well controlled in the chorus and the smooth vocal of the verse and chorus give the song a really international pop feel to it. You can definitely hear the influences of Diplo here and I am reminded at times of the verses from the track Where Are U Now from Skrillex and Diplo.

Overall, the combination of excellent production skills along with a clever pop sensibility, you have a track that easily stands up against today's modern pop hits.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Chris Bates

Described as New Zealand’s "pop prince" by his peers, Chris Bates is a 21-year-old singer known for his silky smooth vocals and intricate pop melodies. His influences range from artists such as Charlie Puth, Bruno Mars and John Mayer, to older artists like Phil Collins.

Hailing from a childhood background of classical violin, much to his mother’s dismay Bates made the switch to pop music at age 13. "It’s my Dad’s fault." Bates remembers long family car trips in which they would listen to his dad’s pop/rock CDs. It was during these rides that Bates grew a deep love for songwriting and pop music.

He began writing a string of songs that he performed at open mic nights around Auckland, testing the waters. Entering a variety of competitions including Smokefree Rockquest and busking regularly, Bates started to become known in the Auckland music scene. In 2015 he was recognised with the Rising Star Award from the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand, joining winners including Annie Crummer, Lizzy Marvelly and Lisa Crawley.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chris Bates

Releases

There are no releases to display for Chris Bates.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020
12 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem