28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus

22 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding. With a clear mix, clean and powerful bass that compliments the rest of the spectrum, it gives Chris' voice the ability to sit perfectly there.

Chris' vocals are delivered perfectly, with emotion and feeling that feels real and not forced. The head voice is well controlled in the chorus and the smooth vocal of the verse and chorus give the song a really international pop feel to it. You can definitely hear the influences of Diplo here and I am reminded at times of the verses from the track Where Are U Now from Skrillex and Diplo.

Overall, the combination of excellent production skills along with a clever pop sensibility, you have a track that easily stands up against today's modern pop hits.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Chris Bates

Described as New Zealand’s "pop prince" by his peers, Chris Bates is a 21-year-old singer known for his silky smooth vocals and intricate pop melodies. His influences range from artists such as Charlie Puth, Bruno Mars and John Mayer, to older artists like Phil Collins.

Hailing from a childhood background of classical violin, much to his mother’s dismay Bates made the switch to pop music at age 13. "It’s my Dad’s fault." Bates remembers long family car trips in which they would listen to his dad’s pop/rock CDs. It was during these rides that Bates grew a deep love for songwriting and pop music.

He began writing a string of songs that he performed at open mic nights around Auckland, testing the waters. Entering a variety of competitions including Smokefree Rockquest and busking regularly, Bates started to become known in the Auckland music scene. In 2015 he was recognised with the Rising Star Award from the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand, joining winners including Annie Crummer, Lizzy Marvelly and Lisa Crawley.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chris Bates

Releases

There are no releases to display for Chris Bates.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
General Vibe - EP Review: California Rocket
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
From the low-fi sound that kicks off with the opening track Secondhand, the jazzy elements are right there interwoven amongst beat and pulsing beat. And then, so subtly the vocals transition out of the low-fi realm into crystal clear, as does the rest of the band.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Nothing Stupid
10 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting an acoustic guitar and then adding texture through melodic lead guitar and powerful drums and bass, the new track from Apollo SteamTrain, Nothing Stupid, starts off strong and solid. And from there it only builds and gets stronger.
Read More...
DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem