19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus

22 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding. With a clear mix, clean and powerful bass that compliments the rest of the spectrum, it gives Chris' voice the ability to sit perfectly there.

Chris' vocals are delivered perfectly, with emotion and feeling that feels real and not forced. The head voice is well controlled in the chorus and the smooth vocal of the verse and chorus give the song a really international pop feel to it. You can definitely hear the influences of Diplo here and I am reminded at times of the verses from the track Where Are U Now from Skrillex and Diplo.

Overall, the combination of excellent production skills along with a clever pop sensibility, you have a track that easily stands up against today's modern pop hits.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Chris Bates

Described as New Zealand’s "pop prince" by his peers, Chris Bates is a 21-year-old singer known for his silky smooth vocals and intricate pop melodies. His influences range from artists such as Charlie Puth, Bruno Mars and John Mayer, to older artists like Phil Collins.

Hailing from a childhood background of classical violin, much to his mother’s dismay Bates made the switch to pop music at age 13. "It’s my Dad’s fault." Bates remembers long family car trips in which they would listen to his dad’s pop/rock CDs. It was during these rides that Bates grew a deep love for songwriting and pop music.

He began writing a string of songs that he performed at open mic nights around Auckland, testing the waters. Entering a variety of competitions including Smokefree Rockquest and busking regularly, Bates started to become known in the Auckland music scene. In 2015 he was recognised with the Rising Star Award from the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand, joining winners including Annie Crummer, Lizzy Marvelly and Lisa Crawley.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chris Bates

Releases

There are no releases to display for Chris Bates.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem