28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

General Vibe - EP Review: California Rocket

22 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

From the low-fi sound that kicks off with the opening track Secondhand, the jazzy elements are right there interwoven amongst beat and pulsing beat. And then, so subtly the vocals transition out of the low-fi realm into crystal clear, as does the rest of the band. It's this sort of care and attention to detail that makes California Rocket by General Vibe not only a nice chill way to spend your listening time, but to also be able to pay attention to the little nuances scattered throughout.

Take for example, that while this is some chill beats type of music, it has some hip-hop influence in the second track, Rocket Fuel. You can hear the funk-infused synth filling in the spaces every now and then. Guitar and bass hold it together along with the drums. Listen closely towards the end of this track to hear how awesome it is. The riff here is fire and perfectly accentuates the track.

The vocal delivery is calm, real and authentic, matching the chill vibe glowing from this latest release.

The final track Blank is epic, instrumental and beautiful. Keeping it simple with a lead line that isn't busy or complicated, it takes the listener on a journey. A perfect way to compliment the other two tracks on this EP.

Overall, the musicianship and craftsmanship here are highly commended. The EP is wonderful, although, I really wanted more.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About General Vibe

Releases

There are no releases to display for General Vibe.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Nothing Stupid
10 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting an acoustic guitar and then adding texture through melodic lead guitar and powerful drums and bass, the new track from Apollo SteamTrain, Nothing Stupid, starts off strong and solid. And from there it only builds and gets stronger.
Read More...
DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem