30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog

28 Mar 2020 // A review by Carl Hayman

Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.

Track number one Glacial Decay is actually my favourite from the EP. It's super late 90's grunge with doubled vocals, power chords, and a driving beat that's perfect head nod tempo. It's got some awesome squealy bits layered over what sounds like ripped jeans and cigarette smoke combined. 

It’s Not OK. Seems absolutely fitting during these dark times, doesn’t it? This is their brand new single, and it’s very weezer-ish. Fitting the usual rock mould, It’s Not OK is little a bit pop-punk-ish and a little bit reminiscent of the early 2000’s.

Kicking off with a dominant bassline, Connor Hardy's voice layers over the top, with a nice four on the floor. The tune breaks into a slightly heavier pre-chorus and then back into another verse. It almost has an element of White Stripes, if you listen carefully.

The guitar solo is probably my favourite part of the track – It’s grungy as all hell. Vocals get a little more intense over the next chorus and throughout the rest of the tune. Personally I think the tune could have benefited from being a whole lot faster which would give it more of a punchier edge - it feels like it drags a little, and could probably have some screamy screams added in for that extra edge, but that’s just my personal opinion (and I am a rock/punk guy from way back).

Mercenary is track three, the highlight here is the killer bassline. It's cool! very cool. There's a few little guitar eloquencies here which transform the song from a basic 3 chord into something with a bit more grit.

Worry Girl and Girl You Make Me High are the last two tracks on the EP, and they follow the same sort of format but Girl You Make Me High is a little bit Everclear-ish, if I was going to familiarize it to something I've heard along the way. 

Initially after hearing It's Not OK on its own I had a picture of Sycophant being a bit one dimensional, but after listening to the EP in full, I'm definitely a lot more impressed. There has been quite a lot of thought put into track order and song selection.

Overall, Sycophant have done a really good job with this EP and I'm looking forward to seeing where they'll progress to from here. I'd love to hear some faster stuff, but once again, my personal opinion. Nice work!

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Sycophant

Kia Ora, we’re Sycophant – a 3-piece alternative rock trio from Wellington. We’ve released our latest song It’s Not OK in early 2020, and it’s gained more than 20,000 listens in its first couple of weeks of being released and has been picked up for radio airplay in South Africa.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sycophant

Releases

Pop Frog
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem