21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Six60 - Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020

24 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so. Not once, but twice, Six60 have managed to sell out Western Springs stadium, twice; a feat that no other New Zealand band can mark down on their CV or list of achievements. And now having been witness to one of their live shows, you really understand why this is.

After being treated to the likes of Mitch James (pictured), who had a stripped down band but a massive sound (and a killer lead guitarist), alongside Ocean Alley and Soraya with guests, the crowd was anticipating the return of Six60 to the stage. Mitch had the crowd clapping, singing and dancing with a short set of his hits that all resonated with the audience that slowly grew during the early evening. Ocean Alley had a tight sound, showcasing a selection of hits that again the crowd all knew. By this time, the stadium was becoming more sardine can like, and less free flowing. I was located in front of the sound tent as I know this would be the best sound.

Before Six60 appeared, little videos showed the members getting ready for the show and eventually the stadium went dark and the numbers 6:60 appeared on the gigantic screen at the centre of the stage. Ticking down, music everyone knew blasted through and the audience, now almost at capacity, sung together in unison to songs past from the likes of Bob Marley and Nelly, just to name a few.

But then, like magic, the stage began to light up with some eye dazzling lights and Six60 walked out across the top behind the drum kit and stood there against a black and white, almost TV static image. It was awesome. This is a band that has grown from their own passion from music. From their humble beginnings to performing at Western Springs, they stood there and embraced a crowd of fans that have come along on this journey with them.

Through the night, the band took the stage and owned it, moving around, fully interacting with each other and the crowd, creating a sense of 'whanau', as Maitu mentioned. Starting with Never Enough, a massive track that slowly builds up. One thing is for certain; Six60's craft of songwriting has grown so much from their earlier days. Boasting huge hits that the entire audience got into was humbling to me. It was a beautiful sight and sound to hear everyone getting behind the group.

Hit after hit, the stage was lighting up, at times showing the lyrics for us to sing, like in Vibes. The production value of this show was huge. It truly felt like a huge international act had arrived at Western Springs.

After the track Ghosts, Maitu had disappeared and was found above the sound tent singing to the rest of the crowd. With just an electric guitar and a mic, he went on to sing a few softer and acoustic style songs. This allowed a more intimate moment, even singing 10 Guitars for us all to sing; memories from our childhood at primary school.

After the show picked up again with Rivers and Long Gone, the highlight of the night was their version of Don't Forget Your Roots. Half way through the track, the stage adjusted and looked like a Marae followed by a kapa haka. Singing the rest in Te Reo was incredible. It sounded to me like the audience sung this version louder than what had been sung along to before. Including a haka in the middle of this performance was completely breath taking. We all felt that strong sense of pride in being a New Zealander, something Maitu spoke about before breaking into the track.

Finishing with Forever before thanking the crowd and heading off stage, the whole show was a perfect example of what a big stadium show should be like. It was the right combination of video footage and lightning.

Of course, they were not finished, the crowd demanding more. Returning to perform Don't Give It Up, and then inviting Israel Adesanya onto the stage with his UFC belt to perform The Greatest, Six60 finished the show with a lot of force.

I've been to a lot of shows but there really was something so special and sincere about this one. The band looked like they were having the time of their life (special mention to Chris Mac!) and yet they all remained so humble and grateful. It was pure bliss for us kiwi's in attendance. This is how we support each other and New Zealand music.

"We are the mighty, mighty Six60".

Yes. Yes, you are.


Photos courtesy of Chris Zwaagdyk/Zed Pics.

 

About Six60

Bonding over a shared love of NZ music and passion for making their own, Six60 formed after meeting at a Kora concert in 2006. Three members flatted together as Otago Uni students, spending countless hours in their recording studio (Eli's room) at number 660 on notorious Castle St.

The Six60 sound is unique - a fresh Kiwi fusion of roots, reggae, hip hop, dubstep, and drum and bass.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Six60

Releases

Six60
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem