30 Mar 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze

10 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott. It draws on so many emotive sounds and delivered in an authentic way, slowly drawing you in with its very catchy melodic idea reminiscent of bands that have come before.

What starts off a low-fi sounding affair slowly builds up and becomes a behemoth track with a lot of raw energy. The piano and guitar work together at times during the chorus to help the melodic idea stick out. It really is memorable. Lyrically the idea of Gaze is about love, this is evident in the climactic ending that soars wonderfully out of nowhere. You don't expect it and that is what is so wonderful about the track.

A truly memorable track that I have played a lot over the last few weeks.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Robbie Scott

Robbie Scott started playing music at the age 13. Starting with drums, he moved onto the bass guitar, and then onto the guitar.

Whilst at Kings High School he formed a band called Hitch; they entered the Smokefree RockQuest in 1998.

A number of years later, Robbie started writing his own songs, which enhanced his love of music even more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Robbie Scott

Releases

There are no releases to display for Robbie Scott.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage
18 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Charade
13 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Kong Fooey, Charade, has got a lot going for it. Full of detail and a mash-up of genres I am blown away by how authentic this track is, coupled with its catchy melodies and tasty lead lines sprinkled all over the place.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Dark Horse
06 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
This new single from The Wake Up is a solid pop rock/pop punk track with a fantastic chorus. From the moment Dark Horse starts, you can tell you are about to have a rocking good time and I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Too Late
03 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem