20 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze

10 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott. It draws on so many emotive sounds and delivered in an authentic way, slowly drawing you in with its very catchy melodic idea reminiscent of bands that have come before.

What starts off a low-fi sounding affair slowly builds up and becomes a behemoth track with a lot of raw energy. The piano and guitar work together at times during the chorus to help the melodic idea stick out. It really is memorable. Lyrically the idea of Gaze is about love, this is evident in the climactic ending that soars wonderfully out of nowhere. You don't expect it and that is what is so wonderful about the track.

A truly memorable track that I have played a lot over the last few weeks.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Robbie Scott

Robbie Scott started playing music at the age 13. Starting with drums, he moved onto the bass guitar, and then onto the guitar.

Whilst at Kings High School he formed a band called Hitch; they entered the Smokefree RockQuest in 1998.

A number of years later, Robbie started writing his own songs, which enhanced his love of music even more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Robbie Scott

Releases

There are no releases to display for Robbie Scott.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks In The Sky
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
“You left this world with tyre tracks in the sky.” The new single from Saurian opens with this line and it sets the tone for the song, a story about living life with no regrets.
Read More...
EP Review: Lizard Prom
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Lizard Prom is visceral. Really.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.
Read More...
Album Review: Dillastrate
31 Dec 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Smooth is a perfect way to describe the feel of Dillastrate's new album. It has a Kiwi vibe to it while being drenched in a collection of synth sounds that helps to bring an almost 80's feel to this Summer jam collection.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem