24 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze

10 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott. It draws on so many emotive sounds and delivered in an authentic way, slowly drawing you in with its very catchy melodic idea reminiscent of bands that have come before.

What starts off a low-fi sounding affair slowly builds up and becomes a behemoth track with a lot of raw energy. The piano and guitar work together at times during the chorus to help the melodic idea stick out. It really is memorable. Lyrically the idea of Gaze is about love, this is evident in the climactic ending that soars wonderfully out of nowhere. You don't expect it and that is what is so wonderful about the track.

A truly memorable track that I have played a lot over the last few weeks.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Robbie Scott

Robbie Scott started playing music at the age 13. Starting with drums, he moved onto the bass guitar, and then onto the guitar.

Whilst at Kings High School he formed a band called Hitch; they entered the Smokefree RockQuest in 1998.

A number of years later, Robbie started writing his own songs, which enhanced his love of music even more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Robbie Scott

Releases

There are no releases to display for Robbie Scott.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem