24 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars

24 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.

A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged. The moment the acoustic guitars and the melodic guitar starts playing, it sets the tone perfectly for a song about making the most of our limited time on earth. The track builds, introducing a lot more of the rock sound which was a welcome surprise. The way the basslines intertwine with the chords, the drums driving the sound and a killer solo to boot, musically this is a fantastic piece of music.

Vocally and lyrically, it feels authentic and sounds it too. I loved how the vocals build into the chorus which just rocks out completely. Again, the musicianship and production are perfect. Overplaying is not in Tony Lee's toolbox. And this is important because it means that the focus is on the story of the song which comes to a crescendo after the dynamic bridge where the vocal effects really allow for the sense of being in space comes out. And that solo reminded me a little of Mark Knofler's playing. Fantastic stuff here!

A really enjoyable song that will certainly resonate with a lot of listeners.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tony Lee

Tony Lee is a Alternative Country Rock artist from Hamilton. He has released 2 albums under his own name and is currently working on a third.

Tony Lee's debut solo album was Road Less Travelled. The album received high accolades in the press with critics loving Tony's 'wear your heart on your sleeve' approach to songwriting.

His music video for All That A Man Can Do has been internationally recognised, making the semi finals in the ISC (International Songwriting Competition) and getting nominated in the music video category at the Limelight Film awards in London. The video was produced by Neil Whitman who had made video's for Chris Rea and Robbie Williams.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tony Lee

Releases

There are no releases to display for Tony Lee.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem