9 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars

24 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.

A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged. The moment the acoustic guitars and the melodic guitar starts playing, it sets the tone perfectly for a song about making the most of our limited time on earth. The track builds, introducing a lot more of the rock sound which was a welcome surprise. The way the basslines intertwine with the chords, the drums driving the sound and a killer solo to boot, musically this is a fantastic piece of music.

Vocally and lyrically, it feels authentic and sounds it too. I loved how the vocals build into the chorus which just rocks out completely. Again, the musicianship and production are perfect. Overplaying is not in Tony Lee's toolbox. And this is important because it means that the focus is on the story of the song which comes to a crescendo after the dynamic bridge where the vocal effects really allow for the sense of being in space comes out. And that solo reminded me a little of Mark Knofler's playing. Fantastic stuff here!

A really enjoyable song that will certainly resonate with a lot of listeners.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tony Lee

Tony Lee is a Alternative Country Rock artist from Hamilton. He has released 2 albums under his own name and is currently working on a third.

Tony Lee's debut solo album was Road Less Travelled. The album received high accolades in the press with critics loving Tony's 'wear your heart on your sleeve' approach to songwriting.

His music video for All That A Man Can Do has been internationally recognised, making the semi finals in the ISC (International Songwriting Competition) and getting nominated in the music video category at the Limelight Film awards in London. The video was produced by Neil Whitman who had made video's for Chris Rea and Robbie Williams.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tony Lee

Releases

Man On Mars
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem