28 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lizard Prom - EP Review: Lizard Prom

01 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Lizard Prom is visceral. Really. I really had to sit back and take this one in.

Betty Goes To Hell starts off as you would expect a rock song would. I would say it very shoe-gaze to me and there ain’t nothing wrong with that.
But then slowly, those vocals start to intensify and it feels like you are hearing an exorcism. By the time the real gut wrenching scream starts, it seems like we have transitioned to doom rock.

And we have.

Fun starts out completely differently to that of the first track. Atmospheric and dark, it sounds amazing on a great stereo cranked up to 10. The vocals from Tyley are just so god damn raw and real. When Fun really goes into top gear it is just so good. Skin is a pretty intense song. "I wanna rip your little balls right off!!!"

Of course, music like this isn’t for everyone. But it’s for me. I love hearing an artist pour everything into their performance and Lizard Prom do this. It’s refreshing. It’s special. It’s one of the most unique and interesting sounds I have heard come out of NZ.

The whole band have done so well in capturing this sound that I actually believe it was recorded live. I now need to see them live. I’m sure Tyley comes off stage completely drained. It must be taxing but as a listener, I’m grateful. I love it.

Lizard Prom describe themselves as Doomgaze and I would definitely agree.

This is a very solid EP. Well done.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lizard Prom

Lizard Prom are a four piece alternative rock band from the Hawkes Bay. Previously known as Queens of Beauty School, after a brief hiatus in 2017, the band reformed with a line-up change and started recording their debut EP.

Their sound is inspired by shoegaze, post-punk and doom, and has been described as “hypnotic and mesmerising”.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lizard Prom

Releases

Lizard Prom
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem