24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scizzorhands - EP Review: The Introduction

18 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Fresh. Like music to my ears (hold on a second. It is music to my ears!), Scizzorhands' newest EP The Introduction gives lets me hit refresh on my love of hip-hop. Let me explain.

When I read the bio of Scizzorhands (Elton Noyer), he states Mix Master Mike and others as influences, and to me, it feels like Scizzorhands has done a fantastic job of bringing that feel and style of the mix master while still remaining fresh and new. In the super deep and wide ocean that is modern rap and hip-hop, it's so damn good to hear people still push turntablism over trap beats. Don't mince my words, of course, I have love for all. But I seldom get to hear this sort of hip-hop coming out nowadays.

Teaming up with a wide range of different wordsmiths, this EP takes everything I love about groups like Jurassic 5, Beastie Boys and early Dr Dre and makes a statement about the current state of hip. From the guitar sample driven Money In, Money Out, with a killer performance from Diggy Dupe, it has a kid of Method Man vibe to it.

Mo' Styles changes it up with Sabe, a funkier feel and more melodic. Every MC on this EP is solid and has so much feel. It's authentic and real.

The single Let Go is a true stand out. With the strong recognizable voice of Unchained XL at the beginning, it sets the tone from the get-go. It's a wonderful song about finding peace and letting go of things that hold us back. It is one of the more fluid tracks where the structure is all over the place, but that again is refreshing. The middle section has Scizzorhands showing off his scratching skills a little more.

It's obvious that Scizzorhands has a true knack for old school hip-hop. I recommend that you give this EP a spin. A lot of talent is showcased here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Scizzorhands

Hailing from West Auckland, Scizzorhands is a world class turntablist who is always improving on skill and knowledge, bringing a variety of music in a hip-hop way.

From a young age, he was influenced by his grandparents and family who introduced him to music in the form of a drum kit at age 11.

Aged 17, Scizzorhands invested in his first set of turntables. Being heavily influenced by the likes of Mix Master Mike (Beastie Boys), DJ Rectangle and New Zealand’s own P-Money, he started down the path of becoming a turntablist DJ. Self-taught, Scizzorhands upskilled his scratching under the tutelage of New Zealand’s 2003 DMC World Champion DJ CXL.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scizzorhands

Releases

The Introduction
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem