29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scizzorhands - EP Review: The Introduction

18 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Fresh. Like music to my ears (hold on a second. It is music to my ears!), Scizzorhands' newest EP The Introduction gives lets me hit refresh on my love of hip-hop. Let me explain.

When I read the bio of Scizzorhands (Elton Noyer), he states Mix Master Mike and others as influences, and to me, it feels like Scizzorhands has done a fantastic job of bringing that feel and style of the mix master while still remaining fresh and new. In the super deep and wide ocean that is modern rap and hip-hop, it's so damn good to hear people still push turntablism over trap beats. Don't mince my words, of course, I have love for all. But I seldom get to hear this sort of hip-hop coming out nowadays.

Teaming up with a wide range of different wordsmiths, this EP takes everything I love about groups like Jurassic 5, Beastie Boys and early Dr Dre and makes a statement about the current state of hip. From the guitar sample driven Money In, Money Out, with a killer performance from Diggy Dupe, it has a kid of Method Man vibe to it.

Mo' Styles changes it up with Sabe, a funkier feel and more melodic. Every MC on this EP is solid and has so much feel. It's authentic and real.

The single Let Go is a true stand out. With the strong recognizable voice of Unchained XL at the beginning, it sets the tone from the get-go. It's a wonderful song about finding peace and letting go of things that hold us back. It is one of the more fluid tracks where the structure is all over the place, but that again is refreshing. The middle section has Scizzorhands showing off his scratching skills a little more.

It's obvious that Scizzorhands has a true knack for old school hip-hop. I recommend that you give this EP a spin. A lot of talent is showcased here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Scizzorhands

Hailing from West Auckland, Scizzorhands is a world class turntablist who is always improving on skill and knowledge, bringing a variety of music in a hip-hop way.

From a young age, he was influenced by his grandparents and family who introduced him to music in the form of a drum kit at age 11.

Aged 17, Scizzorhands invested in his first set of turntables. Being heavily influenced by the likes of Mix Master Mike (Beastie Boys), DJ Rectangle and New Zealand’s own P-Money, he started down the path of becoming a turntablist DJ. Self-taught, Scizzorhands upskilled his scratching under the tutelage of New Zealand’s 2003 DMC World Champion DJ CXL.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scizzorhands

Releases

The Introduction
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem