19 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back

10 Sep 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.net.nz threw me the new Glow Becky single Fade Back and to be honest, it certainly met all the expectations that I had in my mind after Nate’s detailed description of their sound.

A bit of an Incubus styled intro, then straight into a heavy straight feel, gutsy loud guitars, driving bass, perfect head nodding tempo, the singers voice quite reminiscent of some of the big 90's/00's powerhouses such as Velvet Revolver, or Stone Temple Pilots’ Scott Weiland.

This tune has this massive catchy chorus, its more solid than anything I’ve heard in a very long time. It’s incredibly driving and full. The instruments all seem to find their place in the mix perfectly, and it’s not overcrowded. You’ll definitely find yourself tapping a foot, nodding a head, or singing along second or third listen for sure. The guitars then lead down into a very cool breakdown which almost verges on rap/rock sort of similar to POD.

Glow Becky describe the song as a song about social media and its imprisonment of people with the illusion of happiness and truth, and to take a reality check, get back to the real world, and gain perspective as to what is truly important. I really think they’ve captured this perfect with the tone of Fade Back.

This is my favourite release by a kiwi band in the last few years!! An absolute must.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Glow Becky

Diverse, versatile, organic & dynamic – Glow Becky was formed through the instant & powerful bond experienced between the band during a random jam-session in Auckland, New Zealand, that brought them all together in 2016. Naturally finding rhythms and grooves in a wild exchange of experiences, skills & styles – their quick discovery of being able to connect & adapt to each other inspired all five players from that jam to combine their own stunning individual talents into something even greater.

Unified as Glow Becky, the band has locked-in to an ever-changing, excitingly fresh approach to their sound that encourages the freedom of expression and putting ‘the moment’ right into the music. With an impressive range of ideas & creativity fuelling their alternative kiwi rock, Glow Becky expands & evolves their songs & structures even further by infusing bright pop melodies and a heavy rock vibe. Each player in the band is committed and determined to creating music that truly speaks for itself.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Glow Becky

Releases

There are no releases to display for Glow Becky.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem