18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kings - Gig Review: Kings @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 24/08/2019

25 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
If you had told me that the ‘sold out’ Kings show at the Tuning Fork in Auckland was the last date on his very first tour, I would have probably slapped you. Why? OK. Let’s talk.

Wow.

This was, in fact, his first tour. Having spent months preparing it and rehearsing, The Auckland show was also his last date on the tour. But you could have easily assumed this was the show from a seasoned professional. Kings, of course, is a professional. His eye for detail, the way he has crafted his music, videos, images, albums and everything he does screams professionalism and hard work. It is a work ethic that our younger generation should study.

The moment the show started; it was a visual spectacle. A huge video panel was used to show video and lyrics. From the intro where Kings was seated on a golden throne, to the video clips used in Flex, Super and the huge Don’t Worry 'Bout It, the video added so much to the complete live package. Everything was perfectly timed and performed flawlessly with his spectacular band. The songs already sounded great recorded, but in this live environment with the extremely tight drum performance and killer synths to go with it, it was a newly refreshed and ultimately engaging sound. The chemistry on stage with his band was contagious. You wouldn’t help but groove or smile when the band were interacting with each other and the audience. They made us feel welcome.

Combined with the visual elements that Kings had running the entire time, this show was far from what I would expect a debut tour to be. This was a stadium show. It was a stadium show with all the energy of one but in a smaller venue. The crowd was right into it, the energy continually moving between Kings, his band and the audience.

The setlist showcased Kings repertoire and songwriting abilities. This is a guy who puts his heart and soul into everything. Flex, a recent single, translated damn well live, as did the new single Super where Kings had a little bit of a rock sound going along with it. By throwing a couple of covers in here and there, Kings performed his version of Humble by Kendrick Lamar, and it was a banger.

One of the biggest moments of the night was Don’t Worry 'Bout It which came around halfway through the set. This version felt slightly sped up but the original video played on the big screen still. The audience was now under King’s command and rightly so. The combination of the audio-visual is completely mind-blowing.During the final song of the set, 6 Figures, Kings blew the roof off the Tuning Fork by performing a little Drum n Bass remix of it at the end of it. It was the perfect way to leave the stage. Although, within a minute he was quickly encouraged to return for a few more songs from the crowd chanting for an encore.

The final song for the night was You Do You which felt very Shapeshifter inspired, and I loved that. Kings' complete set, from the RnB inspired songs, to using Dubstep, playing guitar solos and even bringing it right down low and having a more intimate song with the audience, it all showed how incredibly diverse he is as an artist. There was something for everyone and the range of age groups at the show proved that. It was an all-ages show and both the younger and older generations had a great time.

The audience was warmed up well by a DJ set from The Katayanagi Twins, whose set had the crowd getting into the right mood. Playing a short set before Kings, Unchained XL, who had a strong presence on stage really impressed me with his cadence and real, honest lyrics. At times, I thought I was watching KRS One. Great lyrics and old school hip hop that really helped to set the mood for Kings.

So yeah, if you had told me that this was his first tour after seeing what I saw tonight, I totally would have slapped you and called you a liar. It was that good. Easily one of the best live shows I have ever seen.

Photos thanks and courtesy to Gareth West from FocusedWest Photography.

 

About Kings

Kings has launched on to the NZ Music scene with a boom!

His first official release Promise To You, a collaboration with General Lee was chosen to be on the Ministry of Sound SessioNZ 2013. Kings wrote the track and sings the vocals. He played it to good friend Lee, and together they carved it into the huge dancefloor anthem that caught the attention of MoS.

The combo knew they had something special and went on to craft a Trap & Bass EP – Transaction. 1 of the 4 tracks – Ain't Coming Down was received very well and had the team playing together for some major events including, Our:House, Vodka Illuminate Paint Party, Blue Sky Fiji and plenty more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kings

Releases

Two
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Chapter One
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Greetings from Sydney
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
In her latest track, Greetings From Sydney, Marina Bloom paints a delicate picture about the feelings of longing to spending time with another. It is an instant classic that ebbs and flows with dynamic.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name
31 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Context. It is everything.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single Review: All The Hours
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Geoff Ong's new single and video is a flashback to so much great 80's sounds, but yet it still sounds fresh like it's from Geoff. His unique approach to pop music is commendable.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy. are releasing their newest single Good Intentions from their upcoming EP.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Awkwardly Eccentric
13 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Hybrid Rose’s EP, Awkwardly Eccentric, is an enjoyable ride through different emotions. On the opening track Pearl, featuring Jahleel, the passionate lyrics and delivery take this song through different waves of emotion.
Read More...
Gig Review: Louis Baker @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 9/08/2019
09 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Tight. That would be one of the simplest and most effective ways to describe Louis Baker's sound.
Read More...
Benee - EP Review: Fire On Marzz
17 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Fire On Marzz. This EP is actually on fire.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem