5 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corduroy. - Single Review: Good Intentions

23 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Corduroy. are releasing their newest single Good Intentions from their upcoming EP.

Masterfully mixed and mastered, the immediately the sound is real and raw, but ultimately polished. While the drums start us off, we are hit with a catchy hook on guitar which is widened beautifully in stereo. The first impression I get is that I can hear the influence of later Arctic Monkeys. This is echoed in their own words, citing a nod to the band. In no way is it direct copy, but it definitely reminds me of something of theirs. I am all for nods towards artists and bands that inspire and influence and Corduroy. have done this in a tasteful way.

Speaking of tasteful, each performer in the band has added their own touch to the song. If you pay attention you can hear all the detail, from the synth pad lurking in the background, to the funky bass line that provides the low-end but also is written in a funky way. You just have to pay attention to it. The guitar work is fine, all sorts of different ornaments are here to lift the sections of the song in different ways.

Vocally, the delivery is spot on. It is not overdone, instead, it captures an almost conversation like performance that fits perfectly with the song. It feels authentic but with a touch of satire. 'Cause you keep talking with good intentions, strutting down the road to hell.'

The final section of the song is a great twist. I won't spoil that. But, I wasn't expecting it. Great job.

A truly enjoyable song that is just chilled, enjoyable and still rocks.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Corduroy.

Corduroy. are a 5 piece band formed in 2017 in Wellington, New Zealand.

Since forming, they have gained a large following in Wellington, and a loyal fan base all around New Zealand. They have played sold out shows at Venues such as Caroline and Meow, and played alongside bands such as Mako Road and Mild Orange.

Corduroy. have two singles released on all streaming platforms, with their first single The Usual already gaining over 50,000 streams on Spotify. Their new single Waiting Game has recently been released, be sure to check them out!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corduroy.

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corduroy..

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem