24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corduroy. - Single Review: Good Intentions

23 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Corduroy. are releasing their newest single Good Intentions from their upcoming EP.

Masterfully mixed and mastered, the immediately the sound is real and raw, but ultimately polished. While the drums start us off, we are hit with a catchy hook on guitar which is widened beautifully in stereo. The first impression I get is that I can hear the influence of later Arctic Monkeys. This is echoed in their own words, citing a nod to the band. In no way is it direct copy, but it definitely reminds me of something of theirs. I am all for nods towards artists and bands that inspire and influence and Corduroy. have done this in a tasteful way.

Speaking of tasteful, each performer in the band has added their own touch to the song. If you pay attention you can hear all the detail, from the synth pad lurking in the background, to the funky bass line that provides the low-end but also is written in a funky way. You just have to pay attention to it. The guitar work is fine, all sorts of different ornaments are here to lift the sections of the song in different ways.

Vocally, the delivery is spot on. It is not overdone, instead, it captures an almost conversation like performance that fits perfectly with the song. It feels authentic but with a touch of satire. 'Cause you keep talking with good intentions, strutting down the road to hell.'

The final section of the song is a great twist. I won't spoil that. But, I wasn't expecting it. Great job.

A truly enjoyable song that is just chilled, enjoyable and still rocks.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Corduroy.

Corduroy. are a 5 piece band formed in 2017 in Wellington, New Zealand.

Since forming, they have gained a large following in Wellington, and a loyal fan base all around New Zealand. They have played sold out shows at Venues such as Caroline and Meow, and played alongside bands such as Mako Road and Mild Orange.

Corduroy. have two singles released on all streaming platforms, with their first single The Usual already gaining over 50,000 streams on Spotify. Their new single Waiting Game has recently been released, be sure to check them out!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corduroy.

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corduroy..

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem