24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Randa - Single/Video Review: Rock Bottom

14 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Randa is back! The new track Rock Bottom is a funky track that will catch you off guard with its catchy hook in the chorus. The vamping guitar, synth bass and tight drums will get you rocking.


Randa has a unique style that sets them apart from so many other artists in the hip-hop/rap genre. On Rock Bottom Randa steps it up a notch with help from producer Shannon Fowler (Tom Lark) who has bought the funk to this track. Randa still has their trademark quirky lyrics that are performed with such character. The song in Randa's words is "written from the perspective of an irreverent celebrity and is a light-hearted commentary about all individuals being human... even if society perceives them as famous or cartoon-like. It's also just a song to highlight how silly but funny celebrity culture is".


The video definitely speaks to this. It's fantastic. Randa is speaking to me, and probably a whole lot of others about celebrity culture. In the video, it is the singing belly-button (I'm not joking!) that becomes the star, not Randa. And to me, that is what I feel our industry has become. Somehow, silly, crazy things have become mainstream. From the fact that the record label guy in the video is really only interested in making money from something so trivial highlights the problem. It is Randa that is forgotten about here and it is the singing belly-button that becomes the star. Pure commentary genius. And hilarious. You need to see this. 

This is a track I could hear all over the radio, played loud in your car with the windows down while driving down the road at night. If this is anything to go by, Randa is ready to come back, full of energy and ready to show off their next stage in their sound. I’ve always been a fan. This song does not disappoint.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Randa

Mainard Larkin is a rapper, performer and oddball based in Auckland, New Zealand. After graduating high school and realising they had no friends, Larkin began writing bedroom projects under the name Randa. Whether rhyming about favourite home cooked dishes, Neopets or navigating life as a non-binary trans person, they’ve been winning over hearts ever since the drop of debut EP, Summer Camp.

Recent releases include songs such as Angel Boy and the house influenced tribute to good style Fashion, which recently hit 100K streams on Spotify. Opening for international artists such as Grimes and Le1f, Larkin’s live performance has proved to be an exciting and authentically captivating extension of an infectious online music persona.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Randa

Releases

There are no releases to display for Randa.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem