27 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Missy - EP Review: Strange

13 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
At 25, Missy is someone that you must keep on your radar. From the moment the EP starts, it is evident that Missy means business. The production quality is incredible. Clear mixes that sound spacious, that breathe dynamics like a storm that swells with gusts and quiet periods. This is next level stuff. The detail in each track demonstrates care and attention to songwriting, building up sections to have payoffs. For example, in the song Monster there is so much happening vocally, so much being thrown at you from a stereo sense that you can feel a sense of dread building and building. It is produced at an international standard. And this is self-produced. There is a lot here to nod your head in admiration.

When we get to the track Missy, you get a sense that the whole EP is going to have a similar sound. This is not detrimental to the EP at all. In fact, it is a benefit. Instead of a collection of songs that are just put in a playlist and called an EP or an album, Missy has crafted a complete story and theme inside within the tracks. And is it dark? Yes. Yes, it is. A lot of discussions and talk about how she feels, reflections on past situations and commentary on how she feels about life in general. The music suits it perfectly. It is a marriage of lyric and music that makes for an almost movie-like experience.

My only confusion came when I listened to the tracks Hate Me and Strange. In Hate Me Missy is singing "I want you to hate me" over and over like a mantra during parts of the song. I wasn’t sure if what the intention is there, as in sarcasm or some other motive. Then, in Strange she sings "I don’t want to be the token odd girl that everyone hates". I listened to both tracks a lot and I not sure I completely got it. But it a small thing. Overall, the EP just works.

I hear a lot of influences here. I hear some Massive Attack, NZ’s own Minuit, along with a bit of an electric style of Portishead. Missy should be proud of her work here. It is a tight package that showcases what she is capable of.

Highly recommended, especially on a great sound system or good headphones. Take it all in.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

Strange
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding.
Read More...
General Vibe - EP Review: California Rocket
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
From the low-fi sound that kicks off with the opening track Secondhand, the jazzy elements are right there interwoven amongst beat and pulsing beat. And then, so subtly the vocals transition out of the low-fi realm into crystal clear, as does the rest of the band.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Nothing Stupid
10 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting an acoustic guitar and then adding texture through melodic lead guitar and powerful drums and bass, the new track from Apollo SteamTrain, Nothing Stupid, starts off strong and solid. And from there it only builds and gets stronger.
Read More...
DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem