31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Missy - EP Review: Strange

13 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
At 25, Missy is someone that you must keep on your radar. From the moment the EP starts, it is evident that Missy means business. The production quality is incredible. Clear mixes that sound spacious, that breathe dynamics like a storm that swells with gusts and quiet periods. This is next level stuff. The detail in each track demonstrates care and attention to songwriting, building up sections to have payoffs. For example, in the song Monster there is so much happening vocally, so much being thrown at you from a stereo sense that you can feel a sense of dread building and building. It is produced at an international standard. And this is self-produced. There is a lot here to nod your head in admiration.

When we get to the track Missy, you get a sense that the whole EP is going to have a similar sound. This is not detrimental to the EP at all. In fact, it is a benefit. Instead of a collection of songs that are just put in a playlist and called an EP or an album, Missy has crafted a complete story and theme inside within the tracks. And is it dark? Yes. Yes, it is. A lot of discussions and talk about how she feels, reflections on past situations and commentary on how she feels about life in general. The music suits it perfectly. It is a marriage of lyric and music that makes for an almost movie-like experience.

My only confusion came when I listened to the tracks Hate Me and Strange. In Hate Me Missy is singing "I want you to hate me" over and over like a mantra during parts of the song. I wasn’t sure if what the intention is there, as in sarcasm or some other motive. Then, in Strange she sings "I don’t want to be the token odd girl that everyone hates". I listened to both tracks a lot and I not sure I completely got it. But it a small thing. Overall, the EP just works.

I hear a lot of influences here. I hear some Massive Attack, NZ’s own Minuit, along with a bit of an electric style of Portishead. Missy should be proud of her work here. It is a tight package that showcases what she is capable of.

Highly recommended, especially on a great sound system or good headphones. Take it all in.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

Strange
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem