4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Missy - EP Review: Strange

13 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
At 25, Missy is someone that you must keep on your radar. From the moment the EP starts, it is evident that Missy means business. The production quality is incredible. Clear mixes that sound spacious, that breathe dynamics like a storm that swells with gusts and quiet periods. This is next level stuff. The detail in each track demonstrates care and attention to songwriting, building up sections to have payoffs. For example, in the song Monster there is so much happening vocally, so much being thrown at you from a stereo sense that you can feel a sense of dread building and building. It is produced at an international standard. And this is self-produced. There is a lot here to nod your head in admiration.

When we get to the track Missy, you get a sense that the whole EP is going to have a similar sound. This is not detrimental to the EP at all. In fact, it is a benefit. Instead of a collection of songs that are just put in a playlist and called an EP or an album, Missy has crafted a complete story and theme inside within the tracks. And is it dark? Yes. Yes, it is. A lot of discussions and talk about how she feels, reflections on past situations and commentary on how she feels about life in general. The music suits it perfectly. It is a marriage of lyric and music that makes for an almost movie-like experience.

My only confusion came when I listened to the tracks Hate Me and Strange. In Hate Me Missy is singing "I want you to hate me" over and over like a mantra during parts of the song. I wasn’t sure if what the intention is there, as in sarcasm or some other motive. Then, in Strange she sings "I don’t want to be the token odd girl that everyone hates". I listened to both tracks a lot and I not sure I completely got it. But it a small thing. Overall, the EP just works.

I hear a lot of influences here. I hear some Massive Attack, NZ’s own Minuit, along with a bit of an electric style of Portishead. Missy should be proud of her work here. It is a tight package that showcases what she is capable of.

Highly recommended, especially on a great sound system or good headphones. Take it all in.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

Strange
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020
12 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem