18 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Missy - EP Review: Strange

13 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
At 25, Missy is someone that you must keep on your radar. From the moment the EP starts, it is evident that Missy means business. The production quality is incredible. Clear mixes that sound spacious, that breathe dynamics like a storm that swells with gusts and quiet periods. This is next level stuff. The detail in each track demonstrates care and attention to songwriting, building up sections to have payoffs. For example, in the song Monster there is so much happening vocally, so much being thrown at you from a stereo sense that you can feel a sense of dread building and building. It is produced at an international standard. And this is self-produced. There is a lot here to nod your head in admiration.

When we get to the track Missy, you get a sense that the whole EP is going to have a similar sound. This is not detrimental to the EP at all. In fact, it is a benefit. Instead of a collection of songs that are just put in a playlist and called an EP or an album, Missy has crafted a complete story and theme inside within the tracks. And is it dark? Yes. Yes, it is. A lot of discussions and talk about how she feels, reflections on past situations and commentary on how she feels about life in general. The music suits it perfectly. It is a marriage of lyric and music that makes for an almost movie-like experience.

My only confusion came when I listened to the tracks Hate Me and Strange. In Hate Me Missy is singing "I want you to hate me" over and over like a mantra during parts of the song. I wasn’t sure if what the intention is there, as in sarcasm or some other motive. Then, in Strange she sings "I don’t want to be the token odd girl that everyone hates". I listened to both tracks a lot and I not sure I completely got it. But it a small thing. Overall, the EP just works.

I hear a lot of influences here. I hear some Massive Attack, NZ’s own Minuit, along with a bit of an electric style of Portishead. Missy should be proud of her work here. It is a tight package that showcases what she is capable of.

Highly recommended, especially on a great sound system or good headphones. Take it all in.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

Strange
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Benee - EP Review: Fire On Marzz
17 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Fire On Marzz. This EP is actually on fire.
Read More...
Stan Walker - Single Review: Give
11 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Stan Walker’s new single Give is a concrete example of how diverse and powerful his vocal ability is. I can feel him, feel his passion for change in our world, and his message about needing to be better yourself in order to see the change that you want to see.
Read More...
Kings - Single Review: Flex
09 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Flex is the new single from one of New Zealand's foremost hip-hop star, Kings. The Don't Worry 'Bout It hitmaker continues to prove that he is not just a one-hit wonder and his momentum does not seem to be stopping.
Read More...
Gig Review: Benee @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/06/2019
28 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Benee knows how to own the stage. Tonight, playing at a sold-out Powerstation, she commands the stage in baggy pants and a light blue t-shirt.
Read More...
Ahjay Stelino - EP Review: Makes Me Smile
25 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Ahjay Stelino has written some fantastic songs that require to chill, find a comfy couch and listen to the way the music tells a story in each song. The is a lot of space, dynamically and instrumentally to allow for each song to breath.
Read More...
Randa - Single/Video Review: Rock Bottom
14 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Randa is back! The new track Rock Bottom is a funky track that will catch you off guard with its catchy hook in the chorus.
Read More...
EP Review: Bailey Wiley
03 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Bailey Wiley EP is a fresh sound my ears needed to hear. To me, it feels totally inspired by the 90's soul and funk music of New Zealand.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: I Know
03 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
There is something about modern pop music that seems to resonate with so many people. I'm not entirely sure if it is to do with the general similarity between each pop hit that fills the airwaves that gives the listener that sense of 'having heard it before', or if it the lyrical content that, in most cases, is about getting drunk, regretting it and then singing about it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem