20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will Saunders - EP Review: Oh It's A Sound

09 May 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will Saunders EP Oh, It's A Sound is an experience from start to finish.

Beginning with the title track, machine-like drums reverberate and create a landscape in which guitars start to play all over.  With a simple riff on one side and some guitar noodling on the other, the song calls out to be experienced live. I wouldn't go so far as to say it is like a 'trance-like experience' as I would leave that to the very awesome and 'Swans' inspired track Hope and Survival. 

The second track, Weightlosslollipop completely changes the tone up. With a more accessible guitar and drum sound, you expect to be welcomed with lyrics and melody that would be considered almost alt-pop. Will is singing about Kim Kardashian and the Weightloss lollipop. It is done so well that it sounds catchy, even if you don't always catch the lyrics as they seem sort of hidden in the back. Reading them, it makes sense and it's funny. This sounds a lot like art-rock, having fun with genre, timbre and current events. I'm thinking of a sort of Darcy Clay vibe here.

As mentioned, Hope and Survival feels like a trance-like state. The drums build up and day down constantly. As it starts to get going, the song quickly ends. I can just tell these songs would be perfect for the live situation.  

Finally, Will switches it up with a more acoustic track called Pancho and Lefty. The vocals are clearer than any other track. I can hear more clearly the songwriting ability that Will Saunders has here. Lyrically, it is a story about Pancho and Lefty, two characters who seem to be tied up with the Federales. It is nice to hear a simple refrain in this song, 'out of kindness, I suppose.'

This is an EP that screams a live performance. It would allow for more room to play with the song structure on songs like Hope and Survival. While this music might not appeal to everyone, music is about expression and creativity and this certainly ticks all those boxes for me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Will Saunders

Will Saunders is a solo musician writing, recording, producing and performing his music live.

He has released two full length solo albums and six EP's.

He was the lead singer and guitarist for Auckland bands The Quick and the Dead and Bearhat.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will Saunders

Releases

Oh It's A Sound
Year: 2019
Type: EP
All That Has Ever Been
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Hopeful Objects
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Covers Four
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Nothing Wrong
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem