8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will Saunders - EP Review: Oh It's A Sound

09 May 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will Saunders EP Oh, It's A Sound is an experience from start to finish.

Beginning with the title track, machine-like drums reverberate and create a landscape in which guitars start to play all over.  With a simple riff on one side and some guitar noodling on the other, the song calls out to be experienced live. I wouldn't go so far as to say it is like a 'trance-like experience' as I would leave that to the very awesome and 'Swans' inspired track Hope and Survival. 

The second track, Weightlosslollipop completely changes the tone up. With a more accessible guitar and drum sound, you expect to be welcomed with lyrics and melody that would be considered almost alt-pop. Will is singing about Kim Kardashian and the Weightloss lollipop. It is done so well that it sounds catchy, even if you don't always catch the lyrics as they seem sort of hidden in the back. Reading them, it makes sense and it's funny. This sounds a lot like art-rock, having fun with genre, timbre and current events. I'm thinking of a sort of Darcy Clay vibe here.

As mentioned, Hope and Survival feels like a trance-like state. The drums build up and day down constantly. As it starts to get going, the song quickly ends. I can just tell these songs would be perfect for the live situation.  

Finally, Will switches it up with a more acoustic track called Pancho and Lefty. The vocals are clearer than any other track. I can hear more clearly the songwriting ability that Will Saunders has here. Lyrically, it is a story about Pancho and Lefty, two characters who seem to be tied up with the Federales. It is nice to hear a simple refrain in this song, 'out of kindness, I suppose.'

This is an EP that screams a live performance. It would allow for more room to play with the song structure on songs like Hope and Survival. While this music might not appeal to everyone, music is about expression and creativity and this certainly ticks all those boxes for me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Will Saunders

Will Saunders is a solo musician writing, recording, producing and performing his music live.

He has released two full length solo albums and six EP's.

He was the lead singer and guitarist for Auckland bands The Quick and the Dead and Bearhat.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will Saunders

Releases

Oh It's A Sound
Year: 2019
Type: EP
All That Has Ever Been
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Hopeful Objects
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Covers Four
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Nothing Wrong
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem