28 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Geoff Ong - Single Review: Save Me The Weekend

19 Apr 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Geoff Ong returns with a new pop banger, Save Me The Weekend. From the moment the track starts you are welcomed with all sorts of goodies for your ear if you choose to pay attention to the little details. Other than the sampled and pitched vocals over the synth keyboards, I hear perfectly mixed vamping guitar to prepare me for the verse.


Ong understands pop. Instead of going along with the common pop theme of single note melodies in today's musical trends, he chooses to use catchy yet simple melody to carry his lyric. A solid beat works well the vamping guitars and a wonderful bass line that rumbles my sub while still staying perfectly in the mix with everything else. For the average pop listener, this is accessible, but for me and many other musicians, you can hear the level of detail that went into the song without over complicating it. Vocoder, ad-lib vocals, harmonies. All things that have been added to make the song work.

Influences that come to mind are Dirty Loops and Zedd’s In The Middle. It is wonderfully mixed and mastered with the help of Phil Levine. For those who enjoy modern pop music, this is definitely something that will resonate with them. If pop isn’t always your thing, you might find this track will pleasantly surprise you.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Geoff Ong

Geoff Ong wants to be a pop star for dorks. “I love all the sounds and melodies of pop music, but I never really felt like I was cool enough to relate to the people performing it,” he says. “I figure there must be other people out there who feel the same way – my music is for them.”

Geoff’s 2018 single, Fingerprints, a shimmering slice of soulful indie pop, was recorded in his bedroom in Kingsland, with production, mixing and mastering by Phil Levine of the illustrious Igloo Music Studios in Los Angeles, who won two Grammy Awards for their work on 2016’s box office hit, La La Land.

Fingerprints made an immediate impact, peaking at #3 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart and #25 on the overall Hot Singles Top 40 Chart. It was also featured on ZM, The Edge, The Edge TV, and Radio New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Geoff Ong

Releases

The Boston EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Streetlights
Year: 2014
Type: EP
The Snorlax Mixtape
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Pictures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem