3 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa

11 Sep 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa.

Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting. That’s the best advice I can offer while preparing for this.

I have no idea what the guitars are tuned to, but its low – very low. Guitars kick off quietly in the mix, sounding a lot like what everyone used to describe as Nu-Metal / Post Grunge. I prefer to call it Rawesome. Raw plus Awesome.

Jason’s voice flows in about the 15 second mark, very much reminding me of Daryl Palumbo from Glassjaw. The beat shifts around a lot, with some awesome double time feels, but most if it at perfect mosh tempo. Plenty of heavy yelling, and hard punches on crash cymbal, with some dissonant guitar solos throw this song from the heavy rock into the metal genre.

If He Dies He Dies, Sevendust and Thornley sound like they would be a damn awesome line-up at a rock concert is what I’m picturing while I’m listening to this single. I even get hints of Incubus whilst I listen to Jason’s vocals.

I’ve mentioned Jason quite a few times during this review, but when I listen further into it, this is a band full of well-polished individuals. The guitars are written and played very precisely, space where there needs to be space, noise where there needs to be noise, and super percussive. Not many guitarists manage to pull off the percussive part of metal well, but they manage to fall into shred pretty competently. These guys do both. The Bass grooves in harmony with the guitars, once again accurate and percussive, and man those drums are just so phat. Not super tricky and fast like most metal drummers, but accurate, driven, each hit perfectly positioned in the perfect place on the kit, and it keeps the groove so tight.

All in all, an awesome new tune from the gents in If He Dies He Dies – I have no doubt this song will be played on repeat many times by many of you over a few straight whiskeys on a Friday night after a hard week.

Probably the best thing ever to come out of Taupo I might add.


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About If He Dies He Dies

If He Dies He Dies are a Taupo based heavy rock/Alt Metal 4 piece. Consisting of former members of Slipping Tongue, 5 Star Fallout and Primacy, the band are intent on combining crushing down tuned riffs with strong melody and hooks.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for If He Dies He Dies

Releases

There are no releases to display for If He Dies He Dies.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem