17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa

11 Sep 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa.

Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting. That’s the best advice I can offer while preparing for this.

I have no idea what the guitars are tuned to, but its low – very low. Guitars kick off quietly in the mix, sounding a lot like what everyone used to describe as Nu-Metal / Post Grunge. I prefer to call it Rawesome. Raw plus Awesome.

Jason’s voice flows in about the 15 second mark, very much reminding me of Daryl Palumbo from Glassjaw. The beat shifts around a lot, with some awesome double time feels, but most if it at perfect mosh tempo. Plenty of heavy yelling, and hard punches on crash cymbal, with some dissonant guitar solos throw this song from the heavy rock into the metal genre.

If He Dies He Dies, Sevendust and Thornley sound like they would be a damn awesome line-up at a rock concert is what I’m picturing while I’m listening to this single. I even get hints of Incubus whilst I listen to Jason’s vocals.

I’ve mentioned Jason quite a few times during this review, but when I listen further into it, this is a band full of well-polished individuals. The guitars are written and played very precisely, space where there needs to be space, noise where there needs to be noise, and super percussive. Not many guitarists manage to pull off the percussive part of metal well, but they manage to fall into shred pretty competently. These guys do both. The Bass grooves in harmony with the guitars, once again accurate and percussive, and man those drums are just so phat. Not super tricky and fast like most metal drummers, but accurate, driven, each hit perfectly positioned in the perfect place on the kit, and it keeps the groove so tight.

All in all, an awesome new tune from the gents in If He Dies He Dies – I have no doubt this song will be played on repeat many times by many of you over a few straight whiskeys on a Friday night after a hard week.

Probably the best thing ever to come out of Taupo I might add.


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About If He Dies He Dies

If He Dies He Dies are a Taupo based heavy rock/Alt Metal 4 piece. Consisting of former members of Slipping Tongue, 5 Star Fallout and Primacy, the band are intent on combining crushing down tuned riffs with strong melody and hooks.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for If He Dies He Dies

Releases

There are no releases to display for If He Dies He Dies.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
Michael Signal - EP Review: Direct Injection
21 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Take the members of Motley Crue, slide an IV Drip into their veins, fill the bag with pure full caffeinated coffee, then let them write an album. That’s probably the best description I can come up with for this EP.
Read More...
Album Review: Hive Mind
07 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb. I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story.
Read More...
Chazz Valentine - Album Review: Generation Y
28 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Remember when bands such as Blink 182, Sum 41, Frenzal Rhomb, Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish were the epitome of summer? Throwing the surfboards in the back of the wagon, cranking the tunes, and heading to the beach for an epic day in the sun with the boys and even the occasional girl?
Read More...
Bic Runga - Album Review: Close Your Eyes
05 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
There isn’t many people in New Zealand that have had have stood out as solo artists with such finesse or success as our very own Bic Runga. After many years of waiting and reminiscing about her earlier singles such as Sway and Good Morning Baby from her massively successful debut album Drive Bic has finally delivered an exceptional new album on the year of her 40th birthday titled Close Your Eyes.
Read More...
Dark Water - Album Review: You're Only As Addicted As You're Willing To Be
21 Nov 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Only a few days ago, my band Poison Skies shared a stage in New Plymouth with a band that I have never heard of before called Dark Water. The next night, I heard that they have a brand new album out titled You’re Only As Addicted As You’re Willing To Be so I promptly stuck up my hand and asked if I could be the guy to write a review it.
Read More...
Gig Review: 28th Annual Gemini Party @ Altitude, Hamilton - 5/06/16
28 Jun 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Like many Aucklander's looking to get ahead in life, I made the move down to Hamilton approx. 1 year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem