22 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa

11 Sep 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa.

Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting. That’s the best advice I can offer while preparing for this.

I have no idea what the guitars are tuned to, but its low – very low. Guitars kick off quietly in the mix, sounding a lot like what everyone used to describe as Nu-Metal / Post Grunge. I prefer to call it Rawesome. Raw plus Awesome.

Jason’s voice flows in about the 15 second mark, very much reminding me of Daryl Palumbo from Glassjaw. The beat shifts around a lot, with some awesome double time feels, but most if it at perfect mosh tempo. Plenty of heavy yelling, and hard punches on crash cymbal, with some dissonant guitar solos throw this song from the heavy rock into the metal genre.

If He Dies He Dies, Sevendust and Thornley sound like they would be a damn awesome line-up at a rock concert is what I’m picturing while I’m listening to this single. I even get hints of Incubus whilst I listen to Jason’s vocals.

I’ve mentioned Jason quite a few times during this review, but when I listen further into it, this is a band full of well-polished individuals. The guitars are written and played very precisely, space where there needs to be space, noise where there needs to be noise, and super percussive. Not many guitarists manage to pull off the percussive part of metal well, but they manage to fall into shred pretty competently. These guys do both. The Bass grooves in harmony with the guitars, once again accurate and percussive, and man those drums are just so phat. Not super tricky and fast like most metal drummers, but accurate, driven, each hit perfectly positioned in the perfect place on the kit, and it keeps the groove so tight.

All in all, an awesome new tune from the gents in If He Dies He Dies – I have no doubt this song will be played on repeat many times by many of you over a few straight whiskeys on a Friday night after a hard week.

Probably the best thing ever to come out of Taupo I might add.


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About If He Dies He Dies

If He Dies He Dies are a Taupo based heavy rock/Alt Metal 4 piece. Consisting of former members of Slipping Tongue, 5 Star Fallout and Primacy, the band are intent on combining crushing down tuned riffs with strong melody and hooks.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for If He Dies He Dies

Releases

There are no releases to display for If He Dies He Dies.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • DON'T CALL ME ANGEL (CHARLIE'S ANGELS)
    Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus And Lana Del Rey
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem