17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian @ San Fran, Wellington - 9/06/2018

14 Jun 2018 // A review by Shade
I have a bucket list of must-see bands, and right at the top of that list are Auckland Rockers Coridian. I'd heard so many good things about their live performances including; "Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious" (here) and "Mike Raven was fizzing with energy as he carved through his set"(here), and, given what I do here at muzic.net.nz, it was inevitable that I would see them live one day.

Having never been to the San Fran before, I was pleasantly surprised - the painted black walls and ceiling along with the raised stage are designed to draw your attention towards the stage, but Coridian didn't need any help with that, for once they started you couldn't bring yourself to look away, even if only for a second, even with free pizza on offer.

From the first note of Birth of Symmetry, it was evident that Coridian are a tight unit, completely in sync with one another. While each band member adds their own individual touch to their music, their performance was the perfect mix of teamwork and collaboration coupled with a faultless sound and an impeccable stage presence.

Dity is a captivating vocalist in his own right, it's obvious just how much he feels the music, almost as though it's a physical object he can reach out and touch. He appears to drift away until the music has surrounded him entirely, and then he comes alive - putting on an outstanding performance that keeps the audience intrigued, a performance that showcases just how passionate he is about music. I'm sure I heard a few gasps from the crowd when some of his jumps came within centimetres of the somewhat low stage ceiling.

All three Raven brothers complemented Dity and each other brilliantly, exploding with an impressive energy which not only motivated the crowd to move, but also to keep moving during the entire set. Having the drums set to the side of the stage also allowed some of the focus to be on Kris, which made a nice difference from the drummer-at-the-back that we usually see at gigs.

With a satisfying mixture of old versus new, including new unreleased material such as Dunes and the surprising Seed Part 2, Coridian proved that they do more than just play Rock music, they've turned it into a finely tuned artform. Mike showcased his musicianship to perfection, somewhat rough around the edges whilst tying in faultlessly with the other band members, while Kris's drums united effortlessly with the other instruments and were mesmerising to watch.

Crowd favourites SeedReflections (which had a recently released beauty of a video), and Blind Faith ended Coridian's performance on a high, with Reflections placing Nick's bass skills in the spotlight and further establishing the fact that he is a talented and capable musician.

Coridian are now firmly entrenched at the top of my bucket list, because now I simply have to see them again, and again, and again.


Review written by Lisa Jones
 

About Coridian

Better Off equals growth, change and adapting:

Better Off represents the next chapter for NZ’s Alt Rock brothers Coridian. This brand-new single is the beginning of Coridian’s new song cycle and the work towards their debut album, set for release in 2019. Better Off was produced by Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City of Souls) who worked on last year’s release Caldera and mastered by Systematic Productions (Architects/Intervals).

The song has been recently applauded in front of huge NZ audiences, as the band has come off recent tour cycles with Devilskin, Skinny Hobos and playing main support to US rockers POD at their Auckland show.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Lost On You
19 Mar 2019 // by Shade
Some songs are simply infectious. Lost On You by Dead Favours is unquestionably one of those songs - play it enough times, and it will take up permanent residency in your mind.
Read More...
Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza
27 Sep 2018 // by Shade
In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: 'U Say'
17 Sep 2017 // by Shade
When we think of Kiwi Hard Rock bands that have shaped our musical landscape over the past 3 decades, survived devastating real life storms, re-united us with graphic memories of the same shaky ground we’ve all stood on before, and been there since the dawn of 1980’s Kiwi Hard Rock… one name does not escape. Knightshade.
Read More...
Gig Review: Wallace @ Meow, Wellington - 11/06/17
24 Jul 2017 // by Shade
With a much deprived passion for a live music experience and pushed on by a resemblance of the gigs poster to a singer of the same genre I was at Meow on Sunday night for Wallace. Unaware of the company I'd share the night with, equally anticipating hip hop heads or those on the jazz fest circuit  (it was mainly the latter), contemplating my week if I had not gone along is an existence I know I would have been poorer for.
Read More...
Cybiont Reviews
29 Aug 2010 // by Shade
Angels & Demons2010Musical Bricolage as Metaphor“You see things; and you say, 'Why?' But I dream things that never were; and I say, 'Why not?
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem