26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.
 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ music including Zorran Mendonsa (New Way Home, Set On End) and Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad). They've toured extensively around NZ, performed with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin,
City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Ekko Park, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem