22 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.
 

About Coridian

Coridian is an alternative/progressive rock group from Auckland, New Zealand.

Formed in 2015, the band consists of brothers Mike Raven (Guitars/Keys), Kris Raven (Drums/Percussion), Nick Raven (Bass) and Dity Maharaj (Vocals/Lyrics/Art).

They’ve been described, "Raven brothers (Mike, Kris and Nick respectively) work as a well-oiled machine; the gear box of which is Maharaj, his vocals taking the band from a hum to a scream within seconds" (Ambient Light).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Hava
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Eden Mulholland - Album Review: A Bee Might Bite My Nose
21 Dec 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Funny, Kooky and gently melancholic at times is one description of respected Australasian composer, songwriter and collaborator Eden Mulholland (Ngati Porou). His most recent release is channeled by a very cute teddy bear.
Read More...
Jessica Leigh - EP Review: Lightbeam
03 Nov 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Nelsonian, singer, songwriter and producer Jessica Leigh has recently released her third EP Lightbeam. Changing tack from her previous EP in 2021, the acoustic guitars and strings have given way to full synthpop sound with an 80's inspired vibe.
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - EP Review: Throne Of Mine
05 Oct 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mysterious and sinister themes such as horror combined with the colourful characteristics of circus life are the inspiration behind emerging dark-pop artist Michèle Ducray's debut EP Throne Of Mine. The balance of both dark and light create a fresh and original sound that is complex as it is identifiable.
Read More...
Sam Heselwood - EP Review: Home Is Where The Heart Is
19 Sep 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Ex rugby player turned singer-songwriter Sam Heselwood has recently released his 5 track EP Home Is Where The Heart Is. Originally from Christchurch, the indie-pop musician has delivered poignant, beautifully composed music which aims straight for the heart.
Read More...
Strawpeople - Album Review: Knucklebones
29 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
For the first time in 19 years, slick electro-pop duo Strawpeople (Fiona McDonald ex-The Headless Chickens, and Paul Casserly) have released an album sparking early 2000's nostalgia. Knucklebones is a fusion of their iconic sound mixed with a collection of entirely new material.
Read More...
Sofia Machray - EP Review: Language Of Flowers
01 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Sofia Machray has been described as an “eclectic master of indie singer-songwriter gone rouge,” her recently released debut EP Language Of Flowers consists of 6 ethereal indie dream-rock tracks which have been beautifully constructed. Inspired by her love of flowers in particular the similarity in evolution between human nature from tiny seed to full bloom.
Read More...
Mitch and his Guitar - Single Review: Mine In My Mind
18 Jul 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mitch and his Guitar is a solo musical artist from Hawera in Taranaki, diversifying from wedding singing to deliver original soft pop songs inspired by the likes of Ed Sheeran, Passenger and Hollow Coves. Mine In My Mind is one of three tracks which will be followed by his debut album.
Read More...
Rowdy's Rose - EP Review: From The Flames
08 Jul 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
During the 2020 lockdown, many exciting independent bands came to light. Rowdy’s Rose, a husband and wife duo from the Waikato consisting of Blair and Rosie Shaw are one of them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem