28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.
 

About Coridian

Coridian is an progressive hard rock group from Auckland, New Zealand. Formed in 2015, the band consists of Mike Raven (Guitar), Kris Raven (Drums), Nick Raven (Bass) & Dity Maharaj (Vocals).

They’ve been described, “Raven brothers (Mike, Kris and Nick respectively) work as a well-oiled machine; the gear box of which is Maharaj, his vocals taking the band from a hum to a scream within seconds” (Ambient Light).

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (City Of Souls, Shepherds Reign)) Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Claemus) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Khailana - Single Review: Like A Demon
10 Nov 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Otaki based independent ethereal pop artist Khailana, has just released her third single Like A Demon. Four years in the making the track is a mystical and captivating song, a moody tale ultimately about “how people can construct an entire version of you based off of one little thing that you’ve said or done”.
Read More...
laura. - Single/Video Review: Safety in Numbers (Graeme Woller Remix)
08 Nov 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taranaki songwriter Laura Griffiths is releasing a banging dance remix of her hugely popular track Safety In Numbers. This version produced by Graeme Woller, transforms a “fun indie pop” tune into a dance banger.
Read More...
Claudia Robin Gunn - Album Review: Sing For The Sea
18 Oct 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland songwriter Claudia Gunn has recently released her latest family friendly album Sing For The Sea (Little Wild Ocean Friends). A robust 24 tracks of delightful marine themed songs.
Read More...
Erin Myers - Single Review: Bad Reception
12 Oct 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hamilton based multi-talented musician Erin Myers has taken a new musical direction with her latest release Bad Reception. An evocative track as the name suggests, telling a story of miscommunication and loneliness within a relationship.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single Review: Leaking - The English Whinging Song
20 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand's award winning pirate Captain Festus from the family entertainment troupe, Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show has recently released another single from his up-and-coming album Look Wot The Cat Dragged In. Leaking - The English Whinging Song is an unapologetic musical whinge of unfortunate events from this sometimes unlucky pirates adventures.
Read More...
Big Tasty - Single Review: Diamond Eyed
15 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based 9-piece funk and soul band Big Tasty have just released a groovy disco inspired track with an epic full sound. Diamond Eyed is possibly one of the best original 70's soulful disco beats I have come across in a very long time.
Read More...
Anthea de Milo - Single/Video Review: Mama Got It Bad
05 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lyttelton based soulful songwriter Anthea de Milo (Anthea Struthers of Saint Satori, Runabout Sue & The Harbour Union) has just released her outlandish (in the best possible way) debut single accompanied by an eccentric music video full of originality and colour. A combination of song and visuals that invade your senses with delightful quirkiness.
Read More...
Ella Minehan - Single Review: First Light
19 Aug 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based emerging female singer / songwriter Ella Minehan has just dropped her third single First Light. A smooth RnB sounding track which has been described as an upbeat, flirty track about taking chances with relationships.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem