24 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.
 

About Coridian

Better Off equals growth, change and adapting:

Better Off represents the next chapter for NZ’s Alt Rock brothers Coridian. This brand-new single is the beginning of Coridian’s new song cycle and the work towards their debut album, set for release in 2019. Better Off was produced by Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City of Souls) who worked on last year’s release Caldera and mastered by Systematic Productions (Architects/Intervals).

The song has been recently applauded in front of huge NZ audiences, as the band has come off recent tour cycles with Devilskin, Skinny Hobos and playing main support to US rockers POD at their Auckland show.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Sail Across The Sky
15 Jan 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer/songwriter; Brendan McCarthy from Apollo SteamTrain has just released his first new offering of 2020 with the single Sail Across The Sky. This is a beautiful acoustic love ballad which speaks of the reality of being in a long term relationship.
Read More...
The AJ Crawshaw Band - Single Review: The Lightning
18 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Well-established Kapiti based singer and writer, AJ Crawshaw and his band have just released a thought-provoking new single The Lightning. A motivational pop infused rock track about living life and connecting with what makes you feel alive.
Read More...
Album Review: DateMonthYear
16 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hamilton five-piece self-proclaimed “independent music bohemians” DateMonthYear have just released their ten track self-titled album. A lush atmospheric body of work that moves from one track to the next with graceful fluidity.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: What Comes Around
04 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young four piece breakthrough Kiwi Punk Rock band Sit Down In Front (SDIF) from Gisborne have just released their eagerly anticipated single What Comes Around. The lads who keep it “hard, fast and catchy”, writing about everyday stuff have delivered another gutsy punk number to warm the cockles of NZ punk rockers from one end of the country to the other.
Read More...
Matthew J.Ruys - Single Review: Rainbows
02 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning Kiwi veteran, LA based recording artist Matthew J. Ruys has released the brand new bright and funky single Rainbows, just in time for those feel good summer vibes.
Read More...
Shana Grace - Album Review: Rinse And Repeat
28 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer-songwriter Shana Grace has just released her debut full length album Rinse And Repeat. With the help from a year long crowd funding campaign, emerges ten beautifully constructed songs of lyrical storytelling.
Read More...
George After James - Single Review: In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go)
25 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
George After James is the project of James Fistonich. Based in Auckland, he is a guitarist and singer who just released his debut single, In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go) along with an announcement of his self-titled EP due for release in January 2020.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Glory
19 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand singer songwriter Hannah Curwood of alternative post-punk band Hannah In The Wars, has released a new single called Glory. Hannah has an impressive body of work, both solo and with her band.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem