23 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.
 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ music including Zorran Mendonsa (New Way Home, Set On End) and Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad). They've toured extensively around NZ, performed with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin,
City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Ekko Park, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland and a member of The Local Musician’s Music Network (LMM). He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - LP Review: Raw Selfie
08 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician Darryl Baser released the Raw Selfie LP back in 2016 on Zelle Records and Powertool Records. ‘Selfie’ relating to the modern obsession with taking photos of yourself and posting to social straight away.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha
28 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings
27 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres “Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Reach Out
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA Thompson (Shirley Howe), the founder of Local Musicians Music (LMM), has released another beautiful single titled Reach Out, from her album New Sun Rising. This is a song about love and light and it was written for the people she loves.
Read More...
Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Cools You Down
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Laconic Zephyr have certainly made themselves heard with their release Cools You Down. This five-piece band from New Plymouth have rocketed to a number one spot on the New Zealand iTunes Rock Chart, with a song which only took 20 minutes to write by the bands lead vocalist and bass guitarist Joss Bines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem