15 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017

20 May 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played. So I guess I shall have to tell you in retrospect how fantastic they are and the feedback from the crowd was that it was the most energetic performance they have put on. I have had the pleasure of working with them several times so I know they are a sight to behold, they sound great and photograph well. I was lucky enough to capture them later on in the evening with Nail and Paul from Devilskin.

Recovering from my late entrance and composing myself, I prepared to shoot the next band, The Eternal Sea, another local band exploding onto the Rock scene in Tauranga. The build up for this bands maiden voyage on Totara Street's stage has been pretty impressive and they did not disappoint. The entrance onto the stage was dramatic and a fitting start for when the The Eternal Sea ripped into the first song, to a cheer from the crowd. This is a band to watch, this was a lively, tight set which got the people up dancing. The influence of Tool is strong, bass was coming up through the floor and vibrating through the walls making you feel the music, it was great. The presence of the large loudhailer became evident when they did an excellent rendition of Genesis' Home By The Sea, the crowd went wild. I look forward to hearing more of theses guys and am excited to be working with them soon. 

Coridian, from Auckland, were next, I reviewed this bands new single Reflections prior to release and loved it, so could not wait to hear it live. I love it even more now. This band is so full of energy, Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious, the crowd were getting right into the music, dancing with wild abandon. I have said it once and I will say it again, this band deserves to be heard on the radio. That was a professional and slick performance and I thank you for writing and playing such a beautiful song in Reflections (I still think it is a slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating), and for hosting what was a memorable evening. 

The final act of the night was Checaine. This is a progressive rock band from Hamilton that take no prisoners, they were full noise all the way last night, loads of personality, big beats from the drums and incredible guitaring accompanying strong vocals, this was a mix for more crowd pleasing headbanging and even a cool light show from a LED hulahoop and poi. They were a fantastic end to a fantastic evening.

The only sour note of the whole evening was someone getting escorted out of the building for being slightly to energetic, everything else was an amazing show of Kiwi rock and comradery, a show of strength, love and support for our rock music industry, which is definitely alive and well and just keeps getting stronger.
 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four-piece Auckland based who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City Of Souls), Paul Lawrence (His Master’s Voice), Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

They've toured extensively around NZ, including their own headlining tours and performing with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin, City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Written by Wolves, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Fozzy (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

theajsound - Single Review: Promise
08 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer-songwriter Theajsound has just released his latest track Promise, a sentimental love song which he describes as an "ode to the beginning of a budding love". Gaining popularity on YouTube with his cover hits, he quickly rose to social media fame when he had 11 million views around the world on his cover with Shirley Setia.
Read More...
Alan Brown - Album Review: Wind And Wire
18 Jun 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alan Brown’s name is entrenched in the New Zealand Jazz scene as not only an established Jazz keyboardist, but also from his highly successful Jazz-funk band in the 1990’s, Blue Train. While reputed for his keyboard and Hammond organ skills his recent work, following on from his past solo creations is titled Wind And Wire, an instrumental, atmospheric electronica based album offering up a brooding sonic soundscape.
Read More...
Grace - Single Review: Echo Thoughts
29 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young bedroom music producer from Auckland, Grace has just released the first track from her EP Music From The Cupboard. Echo Thoughts is a captivating track of ethereal vocals enveloped in a luscious techno beat.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe
26 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe.
Read More...
Madeleine Howard - Single Review: No More
18 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch based singer-songwriter Madeleine Howard, has just released her catchy new single No More, The first off the ranks of consecutive single releases as she prepares to launch her debut EP, Just Reaching Out. Originally from the Hawke’s Bay, Madeleine went on to study at the University Of Otago Contemporary Performance Programme for four years, developing a characteristic Kiwi sound which shines through strongly on this single.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Single/Video Review: It’s Not Over with Huz
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
NZ electronic dance duo from Auckland, Justin Sane & Huz have recently released their brand new single It’s Not Over accompanied by a high energy bittersweet music video which is like an accelerated timeline of C-19 NZ Lockdown 2020. Justin Sane has been around for a few years, a DJ from the UK; he immigrated to New Zealand in 2001 and exploded into the public eye in 2003 by being identified as one of the hottest young properties within the NZ hardhouse scene.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Single Review: Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician and purveyor of the Dunedin Sound and indie folk genres Darryl Baser, has just released the first single from his up and coming sophomore album Second Selfie. Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker is an unusually named release based on a “bunch of experiences”.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem