20 Jul 2024

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Levity Beet - Album Review: Levity Beet And The Aotearoa All Stars

30 Apr 2024 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Golden Bay's multiple award-winning children’s music artist Levity Beet is well regarded in his field. Three times APRA Children's Song of the Year winner and two times Tui Children's Musician of the Year, he knows a thing or two about producing heartwarming, entertaining and amusing music which captures the hearts and minds of our children. His latest work with the support of NZ On Air is a 12-track album of collaborations with 12 different NZ family friendly artists. Levity Beet And The Aotearoa All Stars is a toe tapping, fun collection of unconventional cheerful tracks from names many of us are familiar with.

This album sounded like the best kind of fun to make, taking inspiration from something they all remembered really loving as children creating a theme to base the songs around.

The line-up of collaborating artists is like the who’s who of kid friendly music in New Zealand. Ranging from Suzy Cato and Craig Smith to Claudia Robin Gunn and Chris Saunders, not to mention the very talented musicians in between of which I will fully acknowledge later.

The creator who is behind bringing all this together Levity Beet, features on each track with a different artist adding their own flavour to the mix. This is his first family friendly music project to be released from his new independent label 'Wildbeet Records' the target audience being young kids who will find delight and joy in the charming musical tales.

If I were to pick out a couple of tracks that really appealed to me, it would be from Craig Smith (The Wonky Donkey Dude) and his song about a Silly Sausage. It was funny, touched with a tinge of darkness and backed by funky instrumentals. I can picture toddlers dancing around with huge grins on their faces. It also made me hungry.

Another track I rather fancy is Catch That Monster Fish a collaboration with Rob Wigley of Mr Roberelli which was released as a single recently. A cool catchy tune with loads of get up and go. Inspiring, adventurous, harmonious and happy. What more could you ask for.

This album is jam packed full of uplifting cheery goodness, each artist shining in their own musical right. A distinctly Kiwi sense of humour filtering through each song.

On an album like this it is only fair to mention each collaborating artist as well as the genius behind it all. So here goes.

Suzy Cato / Let’s Build This Home, Craig Smith (The Wonkey Donkey Dude) / Silly Sausage, fleaBITE / Sing, Claudia Robin Gunn / Stick, Kath Bee / One Baby Burger Cook, Judi Cranston / Funny Little Bunny, Chris Sanders / Monsters In The Room, Itty Bitty Beats / Witches Brew, Mr Robereli / Catch That Monster Fish, Music With Michal / When We Say Goodbye, MLO / Riding Up The Hill, Loopy Tunes / Jump. And of course, the magical Levity Beet who pulled it all together.

There is a certain type of joy listening to an album like this, it can transport you back to your childhood or to a time you could dance around with your wee kids, and they thought you were cool.

Fun and frivolity a reminder of the joy obtained from having a bit of fun and simply being silly.

Levity Beet And The Aotearoa All Stars did a delightful job creating this album. It’s bound to be a banger with the younger generation.


About Levity Beet

Levity Beet is a three times APRA Children's Song of the Year winner and two times Tui Children's Musician of the Year. As well as producing warm hearted and hilarious music for children and families Levity works as a producer, recording engineer and mix engineer for many other artists too.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Levity Beet


Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Ms. Mia - EP Review: Living In The Shadows
06 Jun 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
Born in Manila and residing in Auckland, Mia Caintic AKA Ms. Mia has just released her 5-track debut EP Living In The Shadows.
Casual Healing - Album Review: Driftwood
13 May 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
When you fly Air New Zealand, there may be a chance you have heard one of the latest singles Mauri Tau from Wellington based musician Nikau Te Huki, who goes under the name of Casual Healing on his 12-track solo project titled Driftwood. This is one of two tracks released from the self-produced debut album.
Ersha Island - EP Review: Back To Our Roots
29 Feb 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
Classically trained duo Dani and Tee are Ersha Island, Auckland based musicians with a contemporary style which has been described as indie-folk. They began their journey in Guangzhou, China on Ersha Island, hence their name.
Eden Mulholland - Album Review: A Bee Might Bite My Nose
21 Dec 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Funny, Kooky and gently melancholic at times is one description of respected Australasian composer, songwriter and collaborator Eden Mulholland (Ngati Porou). His most recent release is channeled by a very cute teddy bear.
Jessica Leigh - EP Review: Lightbeam
03 Nov 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Nelsonian, singer, songwriter and producer Jessica Leigh has recently released her third EP Lightbeam. Changing tack from her previous EP in 2021, the acoustic guitars and strings have given way to full synthpop sound with an 80's inspired vibe.
Michèle Ducray - EP Review: Throne Of Mine
05 Oct 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mysterious and sinister themes such as horror combined with the colourful characteristics of circus life are the inspiration behind emerging dark-pop artist Michèle Ducray's debut EP Throne Of Mine. The balance of both dark and light create a fresh and original sound that is complex as it is identifiable.
Sam Heselwood - EP Review: Home Is Where The Heart Is
19 Sep 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Ex rugby player turned singer-songwriter Sam Heselwood has recently released his 5 track EP Home Is Where The Heart Is. Originally from Christchurch, the indie-pop musician has delivered poignant, beautifully composed music which aims straight for the heart.
Strawpeople - Album Review: Knucklebones
29 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
For the first time in 19 years, slick electro-pop duo Strawpeople (Fiona McDonald ex-The Headless Chickens, and Paul Casserly) have released an album sparking early 2000's nostalgia. Knucklebones is a fusion of their iconic sound mixed with a collection of entirely new material.
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford
SELECT artists.ID as artist_id, artists.Name, sum(artists_stats.Count) as hitcount FROM artists, artists_stats WHERE artists_stats.Date > ('2024-07-19' - INTERVAL 14 DAY)-0 AND artists.ID = artists_stats.AID AND artists.Enabled = 'y' AND artists.Deleted = 'n' GROUP BY artists_stats.AID ORDER BY hitcount DESC, Name LIMIT 10

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Kendrick Lamar
    Billie Eilish
    Tommy Richman
    Sabrina Carpenter
    Sabrina Carpenter
    Teddy Swims
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem