29 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian @ San Fran, Wellington - 9/06/2018

14 Jun 2018 // A review by Shade
I have a bucket list of must-see bands, and right at the top of that list are Auckland Rockers Coridian. I'd heard so many good things about their live performances including; "Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious" (here) and "Mike Raven was fizzing with energy as he carved through his set"(here), and, given what I do here at muzic.net.nz, it was inevitable that I would see them live one day.

Having never been to the San Fran before, I was pleasantly surprised - the painted black walls and ceiling along with the raised stage are designed to draw your attention towards the stage, but Coridian didn't need any help with that, for once they started you couldn't bring yourself to look away, even if only for a second, even with free pizza on offer.

From the first note of Birth of Symmetry, it was evident that Coridian are a tight unit, completely in sync with one another. While each band member adds their own individual touch to their music, their performance was the perfect mix of teamwork and collaboration coupled with a faultless sound and an impeccable stage presence.

Dity is a captivating vocalist in his own right, it's obvious just how much he feels the music, almost as though it's a physical object he can reach out and touch. He appears to drift away until the music has surrounded him entirely, and then he comes alive - putting on an outstanding performance that keeps the audience intrigued, a performance that showcases just how passionate he is about music. I'm sure I heard a few gasps from the crowd when some of his jumps came within centimetres of the somewhat low stage ceiling.

All three Raven brothers complemented Dity and each other brilliantly, exploding with an impressive energy which not only motivated the crowd to move, but also to keep moving during the entire set. Having the drums set to the side of the stage also allowed some of the focus to be on Kris, which made a nice difference from the drummer-at-the-back that we usually see at gigs.

With a satisfying mixture of old versus new, including new unreleased material such as Dunes and the surprising Seed Part 2, Coridian proved that they do more than just play Rock music, they've turned it into a finely tuned artform. Mike showcased his musicianship to perfection, somewhat rough around the edges whilst tying in faultlessly with the other band members, while Kris's drums united effortlessly with the other instruments and were mesmerising to watch.

Crowd favourites SeedReflections (which had a recently released beauty of a video), and Blind Faith ended Coridian's performance on a high, with Reflections placing Nick's bass skills in the spotlight and further establishing the fact that he is a talented and capable musician.

Coridian are now firmly entrenched at the top of my bucket list, because now I simply have to see them again, and again, and again.


Review written by Lisa Jones
 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four-piece Auckland based who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City Of Souls), Paul Lawrence (His Master’s Voice), Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

They've toured extensively around NZ, including their own headlining tours and performing with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin, City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Written by Wolves, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Fozzy (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem