14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Carnivorous Plant Society - Album Review: The New King

03 Apr 2018 // A review by rebelsoundradio

Sometimes a name just grabs you and demands that you explore it a little bit further. Carnivorous Plant Society is a not just a good name, it’s a damn good name. I used to have this strange habit of picking my listening material based on cover art, now a good band name is the next best thing.    

So, what’s in a name? Let's find out.

The New King by Carnivorous Plant Society is the group's latest album. Genre wise, it is described as cinematic jazz. It’s not a genre I am that familiar with, but that hasn’t stopped me yet.

Diving straight into their latest album, it quickly becomes clear that cinematic jazz is basically a kaleidoscopic wall of sound. We are greeted with a multitude of synths, atmospheric layers, guitars, drums, horns, spoken word and that’s only the first track, Carp In A Pond.

The next track, Car Dance, which features Tiny Ruins, greets us with more atmospheric layers, an upright bass, vocals and some form of pitched percussion, and it is soon followed by more guitar, drums and woodwind instruments. It’s a buffet of instruments.

What grabs me with this album is each track stands out from the last, the grooves are infectious, and the distinction of timbre really creates mood and atmosphere. Track three, Swamp Bossa, features some nice horn breaks and is coupled with a surf rock guitar backing, reminding me of a spaghetti western or old spy movie.

This isn’t the type of album that you listen to while having a few drinks with friends unless they are open minded musicians. This is an album that you lie back on your bed with headphones on and let the music take you on a journey. This is painting pictures with sound. Each track is a new destination,

I’m not going to harp on about the production (pun intended), as I don’t think that production is very important in this genre, it’s not made for radio or mass commercial markets. This is music for musicians and I for one understand and appreciate the hard work put into each track. I recommend that you dive in for yourself and let the music just wash over you like a wave.


Review written by Jessie James Hanright

 

About Carnivorous Plant Society

Carnivorous Plant Society tell stories both through music and with custom-made animated projections guaranteed to melt your mind in the most pleasurable way. Led by trumpet and keyboard player Finn Scholes, they coax life from an astounding array of instruments - trumpets, violin, vibraphone, tuba, guitar, synthesizers, keyboards, bass, drums, even the odd vocal and some whistling.

Mexican mariachi mixes with spaghetti western; flavours of futuristic sci-fi blend with bizarre, spine-chilling nuances drawn from Stephen King novels.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Carnivorous Plant Society

Releases

The New King
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By rebelsoundradio

Fallstate - Single Review: Epilogue
03 Oct 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Let’s address the elephant in the room straight away. It’s proclaimed on a daily basis that New Zealand has no new “decent” rock music.
Read More...
Arrays - EP Review: Motives
25 Aug 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Well, the old adage goes “if you want something done right, do it yourself”. It’s a shame that no one expanded on this and added: “It’s at least ten times better when you do it with heavy riffs”.
Read More...
Yasamin - Album Review: L.O.N.D.O.N
24 Jun 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
A full disclaimer before we get started on this review; I’m not a huge pop connoisseur... there have been a few Katy Perry-esk songs that have snuck their way onto some of my Spotify playlists but for the main part my musical pyramid is built on a rock base.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Take the Fall
06 Jan 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Take the Fall is the third single from Hamilton Rocker's Medusa Glare and it takes me straight to a riff soaked, crunchy, grooving happy place. It’s a slice of pure classic rock sprinkled with funk and lashings of (dare I say it) soul.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton - 3/12/16
06 Dec 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
The Recently Deceived – EP Launch @ Nivara Lounge Hamilton. Reviewed by “is this year still going??
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Blind Faith
07 Nov 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Coridian are a high energy, solid original act from Auckland that blend together a vast array of modern rock. Having played with them several times previously it was a pleasure to be able to sit down and work my way through this review of their latest offering – Blind Faith.
Read More...
Armed In Advance - Album Review: Change/Evolve
07 Oct 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Fresh off the Soundcloud link that has been emailed to me is the debut album Change/Evolve by Auckland three-piece Armed In Advance. I have been waiting for a hard rock album to sink my teeth into and AIA have provided 10 tracks of sonic goodness.
Read More...
Gig Review: Knightshade @ Altitude Bar, Hamilton 6/08/2016
13 Aug 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
As Knightshade has been damaging eardrums since the early 1980’s I cannot claim to have been there at the start, they had already cemented their place in New Zealand’s music history long before I was aware that we had one. It’s not every day you have the opportunity to witness a final show of such epic proportions, I was all over this like a rash.
Read More...
View All Articles By rebelsoundradio

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem