19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Medusa Glare - Single Review: Take the Fall

06 Jan 2017 // A review by rebelsoundradio

Take the Fall is the third single from Hamilton Rocker's Medusa Glare and it takes me straight to a riff soaked, crunchy, grooving happy place. It’s a slice of pure classic rock sprinkled with funk and lashings of (dare I say it) soul.

There is so much going on in this one track that my brain can’t decide what to focus on, every band member is doing something interesting all at once! There’s intricate bass runs going on under guitar licks, vocals soaring over top and interesting drumming tying it all together.

This kind of musicianship is something special, everyone shines on this track and no one is painting by the numbers here. The mix is dialled in nicely and has plenty of width leaving the vocals clear, powerful and not cluttered behind walls of guitars.    

There is a bridge after the guitar solo where everyone lays back before the final chorus which takes the song in a different direction momentarily, It’s a nice touch that adds so some breathing space to the track. Personally I would have liked the guitar solo to have more space to shine as it gets its thunder stolen slightly by having so much going on at the same time.

Truth be told, it’s hard to find much to criticise here as it is a solid track that blends so many effective things together while still packing a serious punch. It’s not the average modern rock song which has been squeezed dry of all its character by a commercial radio vice. It’s unique and best experienced with the volume turned to 11. 

- Reviewed by Jessie James.

 

About Medusa Glare

Medusa Glare are an exciting and powerful new rock outfit.
This ambitious group was formed in Hamilton, New Zealand in 2014 by Simon Koretz-guitar/vocals, and Rick Walker-drums. They released their debut single and video "No Tomorrow" in April 2014.
The intention was always to source a fitting frontman and bassist, and within months the line -up was complete with the addition of the incredible Jason Galu on lead vocals and Nathan Waters on bass and back-up vocals.
Combining contemporary sounds with hard hitting old school rock, they deliver the perfect blend of groove and melody. Catchy hooks, driving rhythms and killer riffs are plentiful in their repertoire of exceptional original music

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Medusa Glare

Releases

Medusa Glare
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Take The Fall
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By rebelsoundradio

Carnivorous Plant Society - Album Review: The New King
03 Apr 2018 // by rebelsoundradio
Sometimes a name just grabs you and demands that you explore it a little bit further. Carnivorous Plant Society is a not just a good name, it’s a damn good name.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single Review: Epilogue
03 Oct 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Let’s address the elephant in the room straight away. It’s proclaimed on a daily basis that New Zealand has no new “decent” rock music.
Read More...
Arrays - EP Review: Motives
25 Aug 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Well, the old adage goes “if you want something done right, do it yourself”. It’s a shame that no one expanded on this and added: “It’s at least ten times better when you do it with heavy riffs”.
Read More...
Yasamin - Album Review: L.O.N.D.O.N
24 Jun 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
A full disclaimer before we get started on this review; I’m not a huge pop connoisseur... there have been a few Katy Perry-esk songs that have snuck their way onto some of my Spotify playlists but for the main part my musical pyramid is built on a rock base.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton - 3/12/16
06 Dec 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
The Recently Deceived – EP Launch @ Nivara Lounge Hamilton. Reviewed by “is this year still going??
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Blind Faith
07 Nov 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Coridian are a high energy, solid original act from Auckland that blend together a vast array of modern rock. Having played with them several times previously it was a pleasure to be able to sit down and work my way through this review of their latest offering – Blind Faith.
Read More...
Armed In Advance - Album Review: Change/Evolve
07 Oct 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Fresh off the Soundcloud link that has been emailed to me is the debut album Change/Evolve by Auckland three-piece Armed In Advance. I have been waiting for a hard rock album to sink my teeth into and AIA have provided 10 tracks of sonic goodness.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - EP Review: No More Time
24 May 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Despite the problematic division of labour, word on the street is that two pieces are a thing again. If this trend continues I foresee the next big thing being a union to represent the great masses of displaced musicians roaming the wilderness like a pack of bloodthirsty hyenas.
Read More...
View All Articles By rebelsoundradio

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem