22 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Armed In Advance - Album Review: Change/Evolve

07 Oct 2016 // A review by rebelsoundradio

Fresh off the Soundcloud link that has been emailed to me is the debut album Change/Evolve by Auckland three-piece Armed In Advance. I have been waiting for a hard rock album to sink my teeth into and AIA have provided 10 tracks of sonic goodness.

Straight off the bat the album comes out swinging with the debut track - Running You Down. It’s got the hooks, the riffs and delivers on all fronts. For a three piece band there is a lot going on and it’s refreshing to hear modern hard rock with a point of difference. The critic in me believes that modern rock has become “safe” and over commercialised and this album really feels like a breath of fresh air.

Combing through this album reveals the menagerie of influences that the band collectively brings to the table and personally I hear elements of Mudvayne, Queens of the Stone Age, Breaking Benjamin and Tool. The Hard Rock (and almost Metal) blend is an effective one and the variation stops Change/Evolve from sounding repetitive and turning into heavy elevator music.

AIA has mastered the “impact riff” and a lot of the tracks start like a house exploding, I find myself consistently surprised as I am repeatedly hit with an audio sledgehammer. The guitars are heavy, The bass is pounding, the drums are crisp and the vocals go from quiet and unassuming to vicious screaming.  

Personally my standout picks are Running You Down, Mistakes and Memories and Banquet but there is something for everyone here and not one track feels like a filler. If you like your Rock music heavy (with lighter moments) this will be right up your alley as AIA have dropped some serious numbers on Change/Evolve

Buy it, go to the next gig, buy a shirt and get ready to say “I remember them when they used to play small local shows”. 
Be that guy. 

- Reviewed by Jessie James

 

About Armed In Advance

Armed In Advance are a heavy rock trio from Auckland with a penchant for ruthlessly efficient, hard hitting post-grunge songs laced with pop sensibilities and thought provoking undertones. Hailing from Auckland, the band is made up of JP Carroll (guitar and vocals), Hugh Hokopaura (bass) and Ryan Thomas (drums).

Since starting out in 2013 under the moniker of Stitches, AIA have released an EP (Stitches EP, 2014) and a full length (Change/Evolve, 2016), and have subsequently had the honor of 5 songs gracing the NZ rock radiowaves over that time. The most recent success of rotation play for single Same Old Story on the country’s biggest rock radio station, the Rock FM, paved the way for a debut full length album described as “refreshing… modern hard rock with a point of difference.” (Muzic.net.nz)
Change/Evolve reached #9 on the NZ album charts, and was accompanied by a sold out Auckland release show. Two tracks from Change/Evolve were deemed worthy of NZ On Air funded music video grants (Same Old Story, Running You Down).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Armed In Advance

Releases

Change/Evolve
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Harder Times
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By rebelsoundradio

Carnivorous Plant Society - Album Review: The New King
03 Apr 2018 // by rebelsoundradio
Sometimes a name just grabs you and demands that you explore it a little bit further. Carnivorous Plant Society is a not just a good name, it’s a damn good name.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single Review: Epilogue
03 Oct 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Let’s address the elephant in the room straight away. It’s proclaimed on a daily basis that New Zealand has no new “decent” rock music.
Read More...
Arrays - EP Review: Motives
25 Aug 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Well, the old adage goes “if you want something done right, do it yourself”. It’s a shame that no one expanded on this and added: “It’s at least ten times better when you do it with heavy riffs”.
Read More...
Yasamin - Album Review: L.O.N.D.O.N
24 Jun 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
A full disclaimer before we get started on this review; I’m not a huge pop connoisseur... there have been a few Katy Perry-esk songs that have snuck their way onto some of my Spotify playlists but for the main part my musical pyramid is built on a rock base.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Take the Fall
06 Jan 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Take the Fall is the third single from Hamilton Rocker's Medusa Glare and it takes me straight to a riff soaked, crunchy, grooving happy place. It’s a slice of pure classic rock sprinkled with funk and lashings of (dare I say it) soul.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton - 3/12/16
06 Dec 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
The Recently Deceived – EP Launch @ Nivara Lounge Hamilton. Reviewed by “is this year still going??
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Blind Faith
07 Nov 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Coridian are a high energy, solid original act from Auckland that blend together a vast array of modern rock. Having played with them several times previously it was a pleasure to be able to sit down and work my way through this review of their latest offering – Blind Faith.
Read More...
Gig Review: Knightshade @ Altitude Bar, Hamilton 6/08/2016
13 Aug 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
As Knightshade has been damaging eardrums since the early 1980’s I cannot claim to have been there at the start, they had already cemented their place in New Zealand’s music history long before I was aware that we had one. It’s not every day you have the opportunity to witness a final show of such epic proportions, I was all over this like a rash.
Read More...
View All Articles By rebelsoundradio

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem