21 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

The Recently Deceived - The Recently Deceived @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton - 3/12/16

06 Dec 2016 // A review by rebelsoundradio

The Recently Deceived – EP Launch @ Nivara Lounge Hamilton.
Reviewed by “is this year still going??” Jessie James

I like the Nivara Lounge, I like it a lot. I also like loud in your face punk music so this show was a no brainer for me although admittedly, I was a little bit torn as there was also another show on at Biddy Mulligans with Armed In Advance, Skinny Hobos and Cheshire Grimm and Wolf Wizard... coupled with a huge gathering in garden place for some big Christmas tree thing/event/shenanigans, all those boring people who campaign relentlessly that there is nothing to do in Hamilton on a Saturday night suddenly had reason to pry themselves away from their Netflix lair and Facebook’s illusion of a social life and human connection… but did they?

The night had a great line up and a decent turn out it was great to see so many people out celebrating live music, something that has been in turmoil over the last few years. 2016 may go down as one the worst years for a myriad of reasons but Hamilton gigs have been pretty solid for the most part so that’s something… glass half full and what not.

Mudshark made their maiden voyage from the land of overpriced houses and gridlocked motorways to put on a great set to open the show. They bring high energy to the stage and showcase some real individualistic talent. I hope to see them in this neck of the woods more often as their onstage banter is also top notch.

Hamilton locals Alpha Coda followed and also put on a great set, their dual guitar attack and take on modern hard rock creates a massive wall of sound. Singer Rob battled through some singer issues but would not accept defeat and soldiered through the set regardless, as a singer myself I have been there many times before and the struggle is real. A solid effort and very commendable.

Finally, The Recently Deceived took the stage and pelted everyone with their fast punk, gang vocal, jumpy power chord goodness. They have all ingredients that a good punk band needs and put on a very high energy set. They didn’t let up the whole night and the energy transferred well from the stage to the crowd. They are the kind of band that take me back those golden years of third wave punk i.e. The Bouncing Souls, Pennywise, The offspring – all that great music that moulded a generation of skateboarders and pursuers of extreme sports.

In summary, I had a blast and I always do whenever I go down to the Nivara Lounge. Ivan Muir has done an amazing job building this place up and it is (in my humble opinion) Hamilton’s last bastion of hope for smaller original shows before all our bars turn into lifeless, Newmarket-ish, borefests with a guy playing acoustic in the corner doing his best impersonation of elevator music. 

 

About The Recently Deceived

Hailing from Hamilton, the city everyone loves to hate, comes The Recently Deceived... a 'power house' four piece, providing high octane blistering punk.
The Recently Deceived offer up heart felt lyrics, spat over melodic hardcore rhythms... yes your ears will bleed, but... they will be pleased!



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Recently Deceived

Releases

Use Your Head
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By rebelsoundradio

Carnivorous Plant Society - Album Review: The New King
03 Apr 2018 // by rebelsoundradio
Sometimes a name just grabs you and demands that you explore it a little bit further. Carnivorous Plant Society is a not just a good name, it’s a damn good name.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single Review: Epilogue
03 Oct 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Let’s address the elephant in the room straight away. It’s proclaimed on a daily basis that New Zealand has no new “decent” rock music.
Read More...
Arrays - EP Review: Motives
25 Aug 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Well, the old adage goes “if you want something done right, do it yourself”. It’s a shame that no one expanded on this and added: “It’s at least ten times better when you do it with heavy riffs”.
Read More...
Yasamin - Album Review: L.O.N.D.O.N
24 Jun 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
A full disclaimer before we get started on this review; I’m not a huge pop connoisseur... there have been a few Katy Perry-esk songs that have snuck their way onto some of my Spotify playlists but for the main part my musical pyramid is built on a rock base.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Take the Fall
06 Jan 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Take the Fall is the third single from Hamilton Rocker's Medusa Glare and it takes me straight to a riff soaked, crunchy, grooving happy place. It’s a slice of pure classic rock sprinkled with funk and lashings of (dare I say it) soul.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Blind Faith
07 Nov 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Coridian are a high energy, solid original act from Auckland that blend together a vast array of modern rock. Having played with them several times previously it was a pleasure to be able to sit down and work my way through this review of their latest offering – Blind Faith.
Read More...
Armed In Advance - Album Review: Change/Evolve
07 Oct 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Fresh off the Soundcloud link that has been emailed to me is the debut album Change/Evolve by Auckland three-piece Armed In Advance. I have been waiting for a hard rock album to sink my teeth into and AIA have provided 10 tracks of sonic goodness.
Read More...
Gig Review: Knightshade @ Altitude Bar, Hamilton 6/08/2016
13 Aug 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
As Knightshade has been damaging eardrums since the early 1980’s I cannot claim to have been there at the start, they had already cemented their place in New Zealand’s music history long before I was aware that we had one. It’s not every day you have the opportunity to witness a final show of such epic proportions, I was all over this like a rash.
Read More...
View All Articles By rebelsoundradio

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem