27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Equus - Equus

16 Mar 2005 // A review by Carl Hayman
I opened my door this morning to find a little package outside, two CD's from Equus.
I was feeling a little lazy - and pretty lathargic about doing anything as I slid the first of the two CD's into the CD tray, and got back into bed.
I sat and listened .. for quite a while actually. What i was listening to was a pleasent mix of both jazz, funk, and perhaps even a little rock.
This is something that I hadn't heard since my high school days, playing in a jazz combo.

Little simple yet groovy bass lines, a variety of mildly distorted guitar, a little hint of what sounds like a cry-baby wa wa pedal, and some drumming which is subtle - I wouldnt suggest that its "in your face" by any stretch of the imagination.

I slipped the second CD into the player, and listened for a bit longer - Equus' music totally soothing and relaxing. It's the sort of stuff that I could crack open a bottle of wine to, and sit around listening to on a quiet Sunday afternoon.

Unfortunately the thing that did grab me, is that the recording quality isn't high. It's a good attempt, but it's not what I would call international class recording, and doesn't do the two CD's alot of justice - even though the second one is recognisably better.

I would definitely like to see these guys live to get a bit more insight into what they do, as the CD covers leave alot to the imagination.
If you are after a soothing melody, and appreciate the jazzier side of things, these CDs are two you should hear.

Carl - muzic.net.nz
 

About Equus

Live Performance Group of the Christchurch based original musicians Collective Equuslive.

currently recording their 6th Album, which will be released this year, alongside an EP and a promo video.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Equus

Releases

Scratch Tracks
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Blue Horse Compilation
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Hind Legs
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Bring It To Hear
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Tranquilzer
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Got Hooves
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Forte
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Album Review: Pieces Of Molly
09 Nov 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Have you ever heard a tune for the very first time, and within 10 seconds been like "holy crap this is insane, where did this come from???" Very few bands that I listen to ever give me that massive burst in energy like i got when opening the very first track Atomic Fuzz on Pieces Of Molly’s brand new self-titled album.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem