16 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jayson Norris - EP Review: Eroded

29 Sep 2016 // A review by LilMizCharlie

There is something delightfully soothing yet sea-stormy about Adventure It Seems Is Easy from Jayson Norris' new EP Eroded. I found myself listening to this as “cool down” music at the gym. Pushing that pain barrier while stretching, a little harder and then finding bliss in the release of tension.

My introduction to Jayson Norris, has been pleasant indeed. He has a vibe about him that allows me to float away from myself for a moment, to be somewhere peaceful. Someone Else follows on with a reminiscent sense of clarity. It’s almost like he may always be fighting a storm hoping to find the calm. I don’t know what the essence of the songs are but for me, there is a sense of dark that reminds me of Chris Isaak. This perception may be different for others based on where you are in your life.

“You could keep it all, keep it all to yourself or you could give it all to someone else... someone else”. I have no idea why, but this line is burned in my mind every time I listen to Eroded. The chord progressions draw me in. Someone Else is my favourite song, to be honest.

Third song in, and you’re swept into this memorable Summer festival country feel, with a song called Sunshine. What I love the most is Jayson's open, unapologetic musical space, as a songwriter. The atmospheric tones of Eroded and where each individual song takes you, is unique and not always expected. He IS a songwriter with an amazing voice to carry his story. I feel like Jayson writes a variety of genres based on a moment in time with no enforced genre walls.

Yearn has a piano piece at the start, and there is something so beautifully simple about that piece. From there, it drives into a solid band feel that leaves me oddly wishing for them to unexpectedly break into a Rumba. They don’t, but the feel recorded is great. This song drives beautifully, I like the harmonies and the guitar presence.

With the final song, Jayson takes us back to the reminder that he comes from Aotearoa, with roots reggae song, Much Love.

I feel he’s like me in a sense. His musical love is diverse and he doesn’t feel like he must tie himself down to just one flavour. All the lollipops are awesome people, not just the Coca-Cola ones!

Acoustic rock with a Floyd switch up, is what my mind draws on. Yet there are a few delicious changes to get that unexpected “vibey” factor. I love the flow of Eroded, Jayson, so good luck with this release.

Jayson’s website states that Eroded was due out in April 2016, however it looks like the release date has been changed to the 17th of October. This is by no means a negative thing, because the EP sounds stunning and it's a clear indication that good things take time. The official release date is only a few weeks away, so if you like easy listening sounds I'd recommend that you go and buy it. Co-produced by Jayson and Paul Matthews from I Am Giant, I'm sure this EP will take pride of place on many playlists.

 

About Jayson Norris

Jayson Norris is a Singer/Songwriter originally from Kaitaia, a small town situated in the far north of New Zealand’s North Island. Jayson relocated to London in 2004 where he has remained. Since his move to the UK, Jayson Norris has released two albums, A Basket Full in 2006 and the 2009 release Freedom To Live.

A Basket Full was released in 2006 on Jayson’s own Indie label, Rangiputa Records and achieved over 2,000 sales independently in London alone. Singles like Window and The Beginning winning favour with an ever increasing fan base.

The independent success of A Basket Full provided opportunities for support slots throughout the UK with well known artists such as Blue King Brown, Pete Murray, Dave Dobbyn, Breaks Co-Op and The Black Seeds, along with invitations to perform at some of London’s biggest music festivals including Love Box, Secret Garden and Toast to name just a few.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jayson Norris

Releases

Eroded
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Save My Soul
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Freedom Twenty Eight
Year: 2011
Type: Album
A Basket Full
Year: 2006
Type: Album

Other Reviews By LilMizCharlie

Gig Review: Devilskin @ San Fran, Wellington - 13/10/2017
27 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
Devilskin are being seen all over the world in ways that we as New Zealanders should be extremely proud of. You only have to attend one of their shows to see that for yourself.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Album Review: Atomic Blues
16 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
That moment when Tom Petty passes yet something else seems to emerge.It’s was one those days.
Read More...
Stefan Wolf - EP Review: Creep No. 1
01 Mar 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
When I first listened to this EP, I felt that Stefan Wolf was opening up a personal diary and sharing a piece of his mind with me.  Creep No.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Meow, Wellington - 1/05/16
12 May 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Shihad, a force to be reckoned with. There is not a person I have talked with who doesn’t know this familiar name on the streets.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ San Francisco Bathouse, Wellington - 8/04/16
20 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
I have often been in awe over Hollie Smith’s tracks. Her voice comes across as humble yet commanding and at those precious moments, heart-wrenching.
Read More...
Festival Review: Homegrown @ Wellington Waterfront - 2/04/2016
06 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Karl, my partner in crime, and I decided to go and see what all the fuss was about with Homegrown. Over the years, I had musical projects on myself so this was something I often couldn’t afford to throw in the mix.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth
18 Mar 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Will in all instances cause stereos to malfunction... Maybe I was just in the mood for some rough as guts, raw, sweat drenched madness.
Read More...
View All Articles By LilMizCharlie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem