12 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stefan Wolf - EP Review: Creep No. 1

01 Mar 2017 // A review by LilMizCharlie

When I first listened to this EP, I felt that Stefan Wolf was opening up a personal diary and sharing a piece of his mind with me. 

Creep No. 1 has a familiar pop cultured sound for me. It sounds like he had a lot of fun making this. The main thing I noticed about this song was Stefan's crafty way of carving his melody line into the music. I think it’s unique and flows fantastic. If I was to be picky, some of the sound effects in the mix override Stefan’s vocals a little too much for my liking, yet they are still relatively clear.  

I am a fan of Stefan’s vocal tone. Because of this, I actually went and listened to other songs like “Three times is not an accident” and realised he has this really great timbre in his voice that I am only wishing I could achieve with my vocals. Now, if only I was a guy.  

The second song is where his work becomes more instrument focused which is what I prefer. Single Woman starts with what I class as a very 80’s British sounding pop feel.  

“She rules her heart with an iron fist. Claims that for her, love don’t exist”. This line conjures up all kinds of interesting images of what type of single woman, one would have to be in order to get to this point.  That’s just the first line.

Rachel, the one I like the most on this EP. It’s real life, easy listening. It seems to come from a sweet, innocent confession of a guy who has a crush on a movie star Rachel McAdams, who starred in “Mean Girls” among many other movies. What I've just stated may seem corny but lyrically many can relate to the feelings portrayed in this song.

“The son of a classical pianist father and choir-singing mother, Stefan Wolf is on a wayward trip to pop music nirvana.” I think this sums Stefan up perfectly as does his bio in which he states, "Perennially unfashionable and virtually unsalable". Whether you like this sound or not, Stefan has certainly stayed true to himself. If you like this EP, you should definitely go and search more of his music. You may find some hidden gems you like.

 

About Stefan Wolf

The son of a pianist father and choir-singing mother, Stefan Wolf is on a wayward trip to pop music nirvana. An early single for Flying Nun (1987's I Could Hit The Ceiling by Stiff Herbert) was followed by the London-influenced Songs From The Basin Reserve in 1992. Sailor (‘Independent release of the year - Galway’) followed in 1999. Wolf then produced a trilogy of EPs charting incisive life events, culminating in Quiet! Can't You See I'm Dying In Here?, released in June 2012. A number of his ballads were remastered for 2015’s Brandnew Life, which also contained a clutch of new songs including ‘AIMA Best Pacific Video 2014’ winner On Your Side. Wolf has two daughters and lives in Paekakariki, New Zealand.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stefan Wolf

Releases

Creep No. 1
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By LilMizCharlie

Gig Review: Devilskin @ San Fran, Wellington - 13/10/2017
27 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
Devilskin are being seen all over the world in ways that we as New Zealanders should be extremely proud of. You only have to attend one of their shows to see that for yourself.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Album Review: Atomic Blues
16 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
That moment when Tom Petty passes yet something else seems to emerge.It’s was one those days.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - EP Review: Eroded
29 Sep 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
There is something delightfully soothing yet sea-stormy about Adventure It Seems Is Easy from Jayson Norris' new EP Eroded. I found myself listening to this as “cool down” music at the gym.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Meow, Wellington - 1/05/16
12 May 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Shihad, a force to be reckoned with. There is not a person I have talked with who doesn’t know this familiar name on the streets.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ San Francisco Bathouse, Wellington - 8/04/16
20 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
I have often been in awe over Hollie Smith’s tracks. Her voice comes across as humble yet commanding and at those precious moments, heart-wrenching.
Read More...
Festival Review: Homegrown @ Wellington Waterfront - 2/04/2016
06 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Karl, my partner in crime, and I decided to go and see what all the fuss was about with Homegrown. Over the years, I had musical projects on myself so this was something I often couldn’t afford to throw in the mix.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth
18 Mar 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Will in all instances cause stereos to malfunction... Maybe I was just in the mood for some rough as guts, raw, sweat drenched madness.
Read More...
View All Articles By LilMizCharlie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem