25 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shihad - Gig Review: Shihad @ Meow, Wellington - 1/05/16

12 May 2016 // A review by LilMizCharlie
Shihad, a force to be reckoned with. There is not a person I have talked with who doesn’t know this familiar name on the streets. So if you didn’t know Shihad have done amazing things in their lifetime as a band, I would have to ask where you have been since the late 80’s.

As I walked into Meow, the atmosphere was thick with positivity. With day 1 of NZ Music Month kicking in, iHeart and Hauraki certainly did an amazing job at making people feel welcome.  A mixture of the older devoted fans, the families, the friends, the middle of the road one’s too who followed their journey later in years and of course the younger generations. All with one purpose in mind, to rock out hard to Shihad.  

As a musician, wishing to explore my own dreams, I have pondered in the past whether Jon and Tom as young mates ever chilled at nights thinking up all the badass gigs they could do. Back in ‘88. I wonder if they laughed at themselves thinking they were just being staunch teen rockers and really just figured they would crack into the national scene not really understanding their true potential. Whatever I “wonder”...these guys to me are true rockers.  

It’s been a long time since I last got to watch Shihad. I was in Palmerston North and it was just what the doctor ordered. I remember wearing my earplugs that night and my ears still ringing for 3 days later, the show was electric and everyone was 100% invested in the show. So this time I made sure to wear ear plugs although it wasn’t that intense, the show was a little more relaxed, the vibe and the love for these guys still appeared as on fire as ever. I loved Shihad then and I love them now. They are not showy in my opinion. They just love feeding off the crowd, hell, I do too!

Home Again from self-titled Album, Shihad got people moving straight away and it didn’t really stop to be honest. Playing songs throughout the albums, I couldn’t help but notice that if some people weren’t familiar with songs, you could guarantee another group in the crowd would be chanting the words out loud. I don’t know what it is really but I love the down to earth vibey goodness the guys all have. They don’t look like they have been taught how to look or be on stage. They look like the typical indie rock band, still grounded but relaxed. When they hit the stage, they just get in and do what they have always aimed to do, play with justice. They remind me of the type of band that work the set list out at the last minute, cause it’s far more fun catching up with mates and there are plenty of time for building set lists later, hmm sounds familiar.

If I could have wished for anything, I would have liked to have seen them end the show on a massive high and play something that anyone in the crowd could have easily picked up like they did at the start. I personally would have loved to have heard My Mind’s Sedate but all in all, this was an absolute gem of a show. Jon, Karl, Phil and Tom were having a blast, and we were loving the fierce beats, the heavy hearted riffs, that low on the bass and of course Jon attempting to swing from a light can and thinking better of it this time haha. A little older, slightly wiser.
 

About Shihad

Shihad has been blasting our airwaves with incredible songs since 1998, and ever since those early days in Wellington they have proven time and time again that they are one of the best and most loved Rock bands to ever come out of New Zealand.

Their boundary-pushing debut album Churn was released in 1993, produced by the outstanding Jaz Coleman and recorded in the legendary York Street Studios in Parnell. Churn was the first album to be recorded at the iconic studios, and so it was fitting that Shihad's 2014 album FVEY was also recorded there, again with Jaz at the helm.

Fast forward to 2018 and Shihad have released nine studio albums (five of which went to #1 in NZ), 3 EPs and countless memorable singles, survived a name change, personal triumphs and tragedies, travelled allover the world with endless tours, sold out headline shows and shared stages at major local and international festivals and toured with musical heroes such as Motorhead, Metallica, Faith No More and AC/DC.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shihad

Releases

FVEY
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Ignite
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Beautiful Machine
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Love Is The New Hate
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Alive
Year: 2005
Type: EP
The General Electric
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Blue Light Disco
Year: 1998
Type: EP
B-Sides
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Shihad
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Killjoy
Year: 1995
Type: Album
Churn
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Devolve
Year: 1991
Type: EP

Other Reviews By LilMizCharlie

Gig Review: Devilskin @ San Fran, Wellington - 13/10/2017
27 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
Devilskin are being seen all over the world in ways that we as New Zealanders should be extremely proud of. You only have to attend one of their shows to see that for yourself.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Album Review: Atomic Blues
16 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
That moment when Tom Petty passes yet something else seems to emerge.It’s was one those days.
Read More...
Stefan Wolf - EP Review: Creep No. 1
01 Mar 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
When I first listened to this EP, I felt that Stefan Wolf was opening up a personal diary and sharing a piece of his mind with me.  Creep No.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - EP Review: Eroded
29 Sep 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
There is something delightfully soothing yet sea-stormy about Adventure It Seems Is Easy from Jayson Norris' new EP Eroded. I found myself listening to this as “cool down” music at the gym.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ San Francisco Bathouse, Wellington - 8/04/16
20 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
I have often been in awe over Hollie Smith’s tracks. Her voice comes across as humble yet commanding and at those precious moments, heart-wrenching.
Read More...
Festival Review: Homegrown @ Wellington Waterfront - 2/04/2016
06 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Karl, my partner in crime, and I decided to go and see what all the fuss was about with Homegrown. Over the years, I had musical projects on myself so this was something I often couldn’t afford to throw in the mix.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth
18 Mar 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Will in all instances cause stereos to malfunction... Maybe I was just in the mood for some rough as guts, raw, sweat drenched madness.
Read More...
View All Articles By LilMizCharlie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem