11 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Hollie Smith - Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ San Francisco Bathouse, Wellington - 8/04/16

Hollie Smith - Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ San Francisco Bathouse, Wellington - 8/04/16

20 Apr 2016 // A review by LilMizCharlie

I have often been in awe over Hollie Smith’s tracks. Her voice comes across as humble yet commanding and at those precious moments, heart-wrenching.  A bluesy soul fuelled feel I often dream of myself.  

So when I was asked able to review her show, I was over the moon. Somehow I felt like I had one the lottery. I had no idea what to expect and had no clue who may be there. All I knew by Friday night, was that her Album Water or Gold had hit #1 on the Official Charts and that was enough to make me think she was very loved.

Alae were supporting. I loved the flow of Alae, the sound aligned very much with what I would have expect to hear when supporting someone like Hollie.  

This is that moment where I feel like I sound precious... To read later, that these guys see themselves as Country Folk got me thinking, are they really? I’m not so sure about that to be honest. My first listen to their set and I instantly felt like they were Acoustic Popular Singer/Songwriters with a Soul edge, I never for a second connected they were Acoustic Country Folk. Not even with the harmonica as an addition later in the set.

Getting over myself though Alae aka Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan, nonetheless had the crowd including myself, beautifully captivated. Their harmonies are pure, they play with heart, the vocal soul is no doubt, with conviction. You could have heard a pin drop in Hallelujah. Just stunning.

It seemed like in a flash it was over, at a guess I would think the set was 30 mins.

Hollie’s team came on the groovy Marika Hodgson, commanding Darren Mathiassen & freaky awesome keys player Daniel Hayles. I knew already I was gonna love this line up. I nestled in with my ginger beer ready to be swept off my feet.

Hollie. I must confess, I didn’t know this vibrant vocalist played guitar and well! So when she walked up to the mic in her swaive tomboyish look doubling denim and proudly wearing her cap, I was already smitten. Her vocal sound is unique in NZ so I was looking forward to hearing her portrayal of her songs live. She aced everything she did and Hollie was a great front person. Hollie is funny and talks about what she knows. In her moments that it matters the most, she is completely captivating.  My favourite song has become a bluesy riffy charmer called Lead The Way, full of gutsy substance heavy, melodic, my kinda song.  

One thing that I couldn’t help but notice was that although Hollie and her band had the crowd engaged and swaying, there seemed to be this glass wall between the stage and the crowd that needed to be shattered. Even Hollie noticed it by her sensing that the crowd was really quiet at the start of the night. People around us seemed to bring it up too. But none the less Hollie and her team performed as professionally as I would have expected. If anything although I think San Fran has a fantastic setting, the venue didn’t feel quite right for this artist but allow me to try and explain myself. When I closed my eyes, it felt like we should have been wined and dined at a theatre show mostly because of the “feel” of music. It felt like people needed to be able to sit back with mulled wine, relax and soak in the moment of Hollie, cause for me, that’s a beautiful thing to feel.

 

About Hollie Smith

Hollie Smith is one of NZ's most predominant & celebrated New Zealand musicians. After working with numerous bands including TrinityRoots, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Detroit dance legend Recloose, she was approached by NZ royalty Don McGlashan to perform on a movie soundtrack single Bathe In The River that topped the NZ charts & became one of the biggest & iconic singles in NZ history.

This set the stage for her debut album Long Player which went straight to number one on the NZ charts, This multi platinum selling album had sold out national tours & saw her take away several NZ music awards which included ‘Best Producer’, ‘Best Female Solo Artist’ and ‘Breakthrough artist of the year’. Long Player also caught the attention of Bruce Lundvall, head of Blue Note records in New York, where she spent time working with Philidelphia heavyweight soul producer James Poyser. This also saw her tour Europe as part of the Blue Note Jazz Festival.

Her follow up album Humour and the Misfortune of Others also hit number one receiving rave review & again numerous award nominations & sell out tours, proving she was here to stay. During this time she also supported Bob Dylan, Coldplay and Simply Red in NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hollie Smith

Releases

Water Or Gold
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Band Of Brothers Vol 1
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Long Player - Deluxe Edition
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Long Player
Year: 2007
Type: Album
E.P.
Year: 2006
Type: EP

Other Reviews By LilMizCharlie

Gig Review: Devilskin @ San Fran, Wellington - 13/10/2017
27 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
Devilskin are being seen all over the world in ways that we as New Zealanders should be extremely proud of. You only have to attend one of their shows to see that for yourself.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Album Review: Atomic Blues
16 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
That moment when Tom Petty passes yet something else seems to emerge.It’s was one those days.
Read More...
Stefan Wolf - EP Review: Creep No. 1
01 Mar 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
When I first listened to this EP, I felt that Stefan Wolf was opening up a personal diary and sharing a piece of his mind with me.  Creep No.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - EP Review: Eroded
29 Sep 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
There is something delightfully soothing yet sea-stormy about Adventure It Seems Is Easy from Jayson Norris' new EP Eroded. I found myself listening to this as “cool down” music at the gym.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Meow, Wellington - 1/05/16
12 May 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Shihad, a force to be reckoned with. There is not a person I have talked with who doesn’t know this familiar name on the streets.
Read More...
Festival Review: Homegrown @ Wellington Waterfront - 2/04/2016
06 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Karl, my partner in crime, and I decided to go and see what all the fuss was about with Homegrown. Over the years, I had musical projects on myself so this was something I often couldn’t afford to throw in the mix.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth
18 Mar 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Will in all instances cause stereos to malfunction... Maybe I was just in the mood for some rough as guts, raw, sweat drenched madness.
Read More...
View All Articles By LilMizCharlie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem