23 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Armed In Advance - Single Review: Stay

04 Oct 2015 // A review by Epitomised_Drummer
In the last few years I've been seeing a remarkable decrease in the number of new Rock releases from New Zealand on mainstream TV and Radio. It's certainly not because of a decrease in the number of good bands, in fact if I'm honest, there is probably more rock bands floating around in NZ right now than there ever has been, they just don't seem to be as easy to find due to a big push from the electronic and roots scenes. One of the bands that you may or may not have heard of is a trio of Auckland based rockers called Armed In Advance.
 

JP, Hugh, and Daniel have previously released some damn solid rock singles and an EP under their previous band name 'Stitches' but opted for a more powerful new band name which I think really represents their more polished sound. 

Their new single Stay is nothing short of impressive. I have likened their previous singles to American lads Chevelle, but the closest comparison I can give to this would be alot more closely resembling Pennsylvania rockers Breaking Benjamin.  

It's heavy, intricate, concise, and melodic all built into one. The small riffy sections in the chorus really give you a sense of sucker-punching someone in a fight. I guess the perfect description for this song from me would be 'Passive-Aggressive'. It's bloody well mixed, and all of the instruments and vocals sit perfectly where they should within the mix, although the resulting track on YouTube sounds a little bit over-compressed (I think that's mainly just because it's YouTube). 

This is by far the best release from Armed In Advance (Stitches) so far, so I can't wait to hear what else they have to bring to the table further down the track. Awesome.

 

About Armed In Advance

Armed In Advance are a heavy rock trio from Auckland with a penchant for ruthlessly efficient, hard hitting post-grunge songs laced with pop sensibilities and thought provoking undertones. Hailing from Auckland, the band is made up of JP Carroll (guitar and vocals), Hugh Hokopaura (bass) and Ryan Thomas (drums).

Since starting out in 2013 under the moniker of Stitches, AIA have released an EP (Stitches EP, 2014) and a full length (Change/Evolve, 2016), and have subsequently had the honor of 5 songs gracing the NZ rock radiowaves over that time. The most recent success of rotation play for single Same Old Story on the country’s biggest rock radio station, the Rock FM, paved the way for a debut full length album described as “refreshing… modern hard rock with a point of difference.” (Muzic.net.nz)
Change/Evolve reached #9 on the NZ album charts, and was accompanied by a sold out Auckland release show. Two tracks from Change/Evolve were deemed worthy of NZ On Air funded music video grants (Same Old Story, Running You Down).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Armed In Advance

Releases

Change/Evolve
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Harder Times
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Stitches EP
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Epitomised_Drummer

Say Or Do - Single Review: Awake
19 Mar 2023 // by Epitomised_Drummer
If you’ve been following the Kiwi Rock scene for a while now, you’ll be familiar with the names Silence The City, Quarter 2 and Broken Avenue. One of the main drivers behind these epic bands has been by groove-master Sam French.
Read More...
Album Review: Pieces Of Molly
09 Nov 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Have you ever heard a tune for the very first time, and within 10 seconds been like "holy crap this is insane, where did this come from???" Very few bands that I listen to ever give me that massive burst in energy like i got when opening the very first track Atomic Fuzz on Pieces Of Molly’s brand new self-titled album.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Unknown - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Epitomised_Drummer
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
View All Articles By Epitomised_Drummer

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem