11 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sora Shima - You Are Surrounded Album Review

27 Apr 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

Sora Shima have recently dropped their brand new album You Are Surrounded and I stuck my hand up to review this album as it's not very often you get the opportunity to listen to a purely instrumental album. Still a touch jaded, and quite hungover after a big night out, I decided that with a very clear mind it was probably a good opportunity to listen to some of Sora Shima's music having not ever heard them before.

This album is a nice crafting of skilled musicianship, some carefully and precisely woven samples, and a lot of attitude. Bands seem to forget a lot these days that space is often more, and I love how Sora Shima have taken this and worked it into their music with feeling and with emotion. The melodies are not too complex, but complex enough to really honour some great songwriting. With subtle rhythms and also some of the tunes not utilising much drums if any makes it a really nice album to have either as background music or just to grab an ice cold beer and relax. The instrumental tones and the ways that the melodies overlay is absolutely beautiful.

This album truly gives a perception of every last bit of blood sweat and tears that Sora Shima have poured into this album. I am a rocker at heart, but this album is one I would have playing through my headphones as I zone out and cruise down the mountain on my snowboard. Definitely a recommended piece of listening for anybody who wants a touch of something different, but still so pure and emotion-filled to listen to. Check it out.

You Are Surrounded
View Track Listing
 

About Sora Shima

With a sensual sound once described by Under The Radar as "properly abstract, terrifyingly beautiful", Hamiltonian sonic rock architects SORA SHIMA have been quietly (or perhaps not so quietly) honing their instrumental craft since 2006. Through echo-woven melodies, celestial reverberations and earthly resonances, "dark and dreamy" Sora Shima are reknowned for their unique ability to lull audiences, blissfully unaware of the aural tidal wave about to strike at a moment's notice.

Without the confines of words, the music speaks for itself, or rather, the music IS the voice - a direct line to the imagination. Whatever colourful language you use to describe this unique four-piece, the only way to truly experience the awesomeness that is Sora Shima is to witness their stunning live set - a vivid experience you'll not soon forget.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sora Shima

Releases

You Are Surrounded
Year: 2014
Type: Album
LOVEYOU
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Destroy Electronica
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Distancing
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Spinetingler
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem