21 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blacklistt - Blacklistt @ James Cabaret, Wellington - 10/10/13

27 Oct 2013 // A review by terry666

Blacklistt, as most will know were known previously as Blindspott. I have seen Blindspott heaps of times around the country and always loved their show. This tour was the first tour under their new name Blacklistt. Not much has changed other than the name and the drummer. With a new album just released and instantly hitting number 1 it’s a perfect time to go out and get the country excited about one New Zealand’s best rock acts.

Villainy opened up the show and they are a band I have wanted to see live for quite a while. They have released a few songs that I have quite liked but when I listened to their album there were far more slow songs than the rock out songs which I much preferred. They are definitely a more fun act to see live and I was glad I got their early enough to see them. The crowd got right into them as they smashed through their hits Alligator Skin, Gather Yourselves and my favourite The Answer.

I was shocked at this point to see that some of the crowd left before Blacklistt had come on. It was a Thursday night in the capital but I still expected a better turn out. This was first time at the James Cabaret and I was very impressed with the venue and glad to see that they are getting a lot of bigger band bookings. The following night was another Wellington show in the Hutt Valley which I suspect was far better attended being a Friday night show.

This was the first time I had seen Blacklistt since the release of the new album I was interested how much of the new material would be included in the set list. At an estimate I think they played about ninety percent of the new album and a load of the old songs from the Blindspott days. I have always loved this band live and they went down a treat for all those that were there. We even got an encore of the last song from the new album the song Reflections. These guys never fail to deliver and give a full on energy driven performance that leaves the crowd calling for more. The pit went wild for tracks like Burn and From The Blindspott from the new album and went over the top for some of the older tracks like Suffocate and Lit Up. Their latest single Home bought the lighters out and the crowd singing enthusiastically.

I always love seeing this band and so glad they regrouped and continued to bring those songs to us. This is Kiwi rock at its best. Bring on the next tour.

 

About Blacklistt

Featuring 4 of the 5 original members of Blindspott.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blacklistt

Releases

Blacklistt
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem