14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018

18 Feb 2018 // A review by Terry McIntosh
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.

The atmosphere was electric, and the stage was set with a state-of-the-art panoramic digital curved screen with Queen with Adam Lambert displayed upon it. The visual effects in the show were nothing short of amazing. The screen was then raised to reveal more spectacular projections of the News of the World robot character, while the band hit the stage running, with Hammer to Fall. The multi-coloured laser lights were awe inspiring and all the visual effects made it a feast for the eyes.

I purposely didn’t watch any of their YouTube videos to ensure I was open minded to what Adam Lambert could bring to Queen and he certainly delivered - by the time Another One Bites the Dust and Fat Bottomed Girls were played, he had the crowd eating out of his hands. For Bicycle Race Adam tore around the stage on a pink tricycle complete with a pink horn and tassels. Adam soon took a moment to reassure the audience of his intentions and there was no doubt that Adam had studied Freddie, clearly loving him as much as we all did.

Brain May and Roger Taylor both stepped up and sung during the show and shared moments with the crowd, with images and the voice of Freddie joining Brian for Love of My Life. When they played Under Pressure and Who Wants to Live Forever I had tears running down my face. Queen are not just a rock band, their music transcends past that, touching you like only great music can. To quote the band "It’s a kind of magic".

As the confetti fell and the band smashed out We Will Rock U, Adam appeared with a matching gold cape and crown, while the speakers blasted God Save the Queen. Everyone knew they had just seen one of the greatest rock bands ever give us a performance of a lifetime. I only wish I could attend the second show - I'll make a point of seeing them again the next time they are in our neck of the woods.


Review written by Terry McIntosh
 

Other Reviews By Terry McIntosh

Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and His Motley Crew - Single Review: The Little Things
25 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I first came across Captain Festus McBoyle when he appeared on a television show performing a track Cheeky Little Monkey. Having enjoyed that track immensely, I had a little hunt and came across many other tracks from this hugely talented man.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation
13 Jun 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Terry McIntosh

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem