21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor

12 Aug 2018 // A review by Terry McIntosh
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy. These guys hail from Wellington and are about to burst out onto the scene with their live show celebrating the release of the single. The quartet all come from different musical backgrounds which shines through in this song. Having formed in 2017 this is the first taste of what’s to come and the fruit tastes good.

The track Petrichor is 6 minutes of alt-metal madness. Driving beats and swirling guitars as vocals intertwine clean and guttural. The song has a lot of messages, but to be honest I was so caught up in the instrumental side as the many threads weave their magic as only good music can do. Not a paint by numbers metal band or song by any means - this is a complicated piece with many layers to make up this first impression of their art.

This is clearly just a brief glimpse into the potential of this band and with the mixture of influences here I have huge expectations that we will many more epic tunes from this band. For fans of the style of Tool, Karnivool and the home grown Shihad.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Terry McIntosh
 

About Eight Eyed Orchid

Wellington alt-metal quartet Eight Eyed Orchid deal in dense, dynamic song journeys. Though the members of EEO come from a range of musical backgrounds—extreme metal, neo-soul, jazz, contemporary classical—they share a love of progressive rock. Hence, epic riffs are pulled through winding song structures with restless rhythmic shifts, guided by versatile vocals that range from soaring melodicism to cathartic screams to dexterous throat singing.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eight Eyed Orchid

Releases

There are no releases to display for Eight Eyed Orchid.

Other Reviews By Terry McIntosh

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by Terry McIntosh
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by Terry McIntosh
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and His Motley Crew - Single Review: The Little Things
25 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I first came across Captain Festus McBoyle when he appeared on a television show performing a track Cheeky Little Monkey. Having enjoyed that track immensely, I had a little hunt and came across many other tracks from this hugely talented man.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By Terry McIntosh

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem