27 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Decortica - Decortica And New Way Home @ The Royal - 25/05/13

10 Jul 2013 // A review by terry666

This show had two local acts and two headliners locals Beneath the Heavens and Cephalopod supporting Decortica and New Way Home.

For once I turned up fairly close to doors opening because I wanted to catch Beneath the Heavens and I was glad I did as they delivered a great set to watch. These guys have been gigging frequently around Palmy now for about a year and have impressed the punters with their hard rock metal and progressive meld which shows great promise for the future. I do understand they are soon moving to Wellington, our loss their gain.

I was advised at the door that the singers for both headlining bands had bad throats and tours in the winter can take their toll but they changed the band order for the night so the two headliners played in the middle. I must say that when both these bands hit the stage there was no evidence of sore throats as these guys sung and screamed their hearts and lungs out. Both the bands have quite similar sounds being quite grungy and both seem to have quite a Deftones influence. 

Decortica have been making waves across the country having released three albums to date. All though it’s quite grunge it makes me think a lot of Thirty Seconds To Mars but  they can also get a lot heavier in places making it quite appealing. To me it’s quite emotive rock with big swirling walls of guitar twisting into a tornado crushing all heads in the way.

New Way Home has been together for quite a while now and has played many shows throughout New Zealand. They have released an EP and an album and played shows with some big international names like Meshuggah and Slipknot. These guys have a good solid set and show. Not unlike Decortica they provided giant slabs of guitar that smacked you from side to side and nobody was standing still the whole night.

Last time I saw them was at Capital Punishment in Wellington where they had Brandon Reihana previously of Blindspott as a second guitarist. Unfortunately he is no longer with the band having moved onto the Heavy Metal Ninjas which is a great thing. This hasn’t really affected their strength and aggression and they stalk the stage ready to pounce.

From quiet soundscapes to screaming to the heavens and guitar punches both bands put on an awesome appearance and left the crowd pleading for more. This was an awesome night for lovers of guitar rock and showcased some of New Zealand’s greatest assets our musicians.

To ends the evening local band Cephalopod was there to drag any last drops of energy left out of the seething mass of the pit. I can’t wait to see all of these bands again.

I have said this many a time and will say it again but the calibre of New Zealand musicians and their product is going in leaps and bounds dare I say it thanks to music reality shows giving people the opportunity to show their goods. Although I’m not a big fan of the shows themselves they provide a great stepping stool and confidence boast to our young people and encourage people to get out there and give it a go and to me that’s what New Zealand is all about.

 

About Decortica

Sonically careening between brutal peaks of intensity and quiet moments like the beginning of a storm, Decortica's third album "11811" is an engrossing affair from start to finish.

Recorded and produced by long-time collaborator David Holmes (Jakob, Kerretta, An Emerald City), "11811" continues Decortica's journey into the depths of angular alternative rock, while exploring elements of prog, hard
rock and alternative-metal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Decortica

Releases

11811
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Love Hotel
Year: 2011
Type: Album
A New Aesthetic
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem