14 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

8 Foot Sativa - 8 Foot Sativa @ Powerstation, Auckland 22/09/12

05 Oct 2012 // A review by terry666

I can’t tell you how excited I was when just after New Year’s this year 8 Foot Sativa announced that they would be back with a greatest hits album, a DVD and a new album. To add to all that was the fact that Jackhammer and Gary Smith were back in the fray and ready to step up once again.

Their first show back was opening for Fear Factory at the Powerstation in Auckland. The line-up bringing back the key members of the band Axe slinger Gary smith and the mighty Jackhammer on throat. New additions were Rigel Walshe on Bass and Nick Davies as a second Guitar player.

Emotions were high for both fans and I’m sure the band but the second they stepped onto the stage the crowd lit up and roared their approval. The undisputed kings of NZ Metal are back and in supreme form. 8 Foot was back to rule again. With horns high and the mosh pit going crazy the band hurled at breakneck pace through hit tracks like Destined To Be Dead, Believer, Chelsea Smile, Hate Made Me, 8 Foot Sativa and Seasons for Assault. This is a band back stronger than ever and ready to take on the world which with the strength of their first two albums and some new material too come could make its mark once again. Jack Hammer interacted with the crowd to huge response and showed old and new fans how it’s done. Gary looked awesome with his long hair and head banging riffs. They ended their comeback show with the song Fuel Set and the pit going absolutely nuts. The crowd roared for more but sadly they were the support band on the bill so no encore but left us panting for more and anticipating the tour about to unfold.

They were tight sounding and also looked like a strong and energised unit which will hopefully keep it together for the long haul. Kiwi metal needs a fresh injection from 8 Foot Sativa. Bring it on 8 Foot I plan to get to as many of the upcoming shows as I can and I strongly suggest you do too, you wont regret it.

 

About 8 Foot Sativa

Exploding out of West Auckland in 1998, 8 Foot Sativa have gone from being a local band playing every week, to becoming the premier Metal band in New Zealand.

They are the first metal band in NZ to crack out of the small scene and bring New Zealand Heavy Metal to mainstream Kiwi's doorsteps, with the song 8 Foot Sativa staying at number 1 for three months and eight months in the charts. They have also had success overseas, in Australia, USA and Europe. With their first album Hate Made Me achieving Gold Record status, the follow up with Season for Assault, which established 8 Foot Sativa as a household name. Since then they have released 4 more albums Breed The Pain, Poison Of Ages, The Shadow Masters and 10 Years Of Sativa.

8 Foot Sativa have played with the big names of metal including Pantera, Motorhead, Korn, Children of Bodom, Disturbed, Soul Fly, Shihad and Corrosion of Conformity. They have had 2 Big Day Out appearances on the main stage, sharing the stage with Slipknot, Metallica and System of a Down.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 8 Foot Sativa

Releases

10 Years of Sativa
Year: 2013
Type: Album
The Shadow Masters
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Poison Of Ages
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Breed The Pain
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Season For Assault
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Hate Made Me
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem