22 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Last Train To Brockville - Shayne P Carter Tracks Back @ Bar Bodega, Welling - 6 May 2011

Last Train To Brockville - Shayne P Carter Tracks Back @ Bar Bodega, Welling - 6 May 2011

25 May 2011 // A review by terry666

LAST TRAIN TO BROCKVILLE…SHAYNE P CARTER TRACKS BACK Friday 6 May - Bodega, Wellington 

I’m a huge fan of Shayne Carter's from way back. I would have to say I discovered him rather late in the piece being lucky enough to see the last Straitjacket Fits show at the Big Day Out many many moons ago but it was at that time I was converted and that’s where I feel Shayne always shines. Live performance, the man lives, breaths and oozes Sex and Rock n Roll. I have seen him in many incarnations now as Dimmer, Straitjacket Fits and solo shows and he’s a true Kiwi Music Legend. This guy turns simple songs into a performance and stirs the crowd into a frenzy. He’s a great Songwriter, Singer and Guitarist but most people are not really aware of the later until they see him live and that’s where this guy is a force to be reckoned with.  It was with these thoughts burning in my mind the excitement built as I headed to Bodega to see Last Train to Brockville: Shayne Carter Tracks Back’.

Orchestra of Spheres opened the show and what an interesting band to say the least. The each wore costumes the keyboardists both seeming to have an Egyptian theme while the singer was possibly a bear and the drummer like a 70’s hippie it almost reminded me of Cheech and chongs band in Up in smoke in their dress style. They were pretty tight and played some unique instruments with a homemade Guitar and keyboards. They had cool props and the Egyptian theme came through once again with Hieroglyphic placards at one point. It was quite dance beat orientated with some Hand clapping and strange vocal sounds at some points just to mess it up a bit. Not a band for everyone’s taste but I thought they were very interesting and would be keen to see them again. Unique and entertaining.

Finally what we were waiting for and the guys slink on Shayne Carter’s entrance generating a crowd roar. As I have said earlier I am a big fan and it’s because of the live performance that this is so. He talks to the crowd right from the start talking a little bit about the songs before he performs them. Kicking of the set with blinding versions of 'Done', 'APS' and 'Big Fat Elvis' he leaves no prisoners and the crowd swirls in rhythm. The band is just a 3 piece tonight but they are incredibly tight and the sound is very full. I’m very much a guitar man and Shayne carter knows how to play his. It’s an extension to his body and so the solos and the extended jams feel completely natural and showcase the sometimes hidden side of him in all its glory.

All the oldies; 'Randolph’s Going Home', 'Joe 90' and 'She Speeds' just pumped the crowd even more, smiles seen across the room.  All too fast it seems like it’s over when he comes back out for an Encore and this was to me the real treats. We were asked which we wanted 'Life In One Chord' or 'If I Were You'. How is that a choice? The crowd was not going to let him away that easy and encouraged him to just play both. He ended the show with one more treat in an extended jam of 'Seed' from his band Dimmer. Although this last song was almost fifteen minutes long it still felt too short. Shayne always ends his shows with these extended jams and they are always the high points to me. I left with a huge smile on my dial praying for the next time we are lucky enough to have him perform for us. It was a very contented crowd that left Bodega and what a great start to NZ Music Month.

 

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem