24 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Transits - Single/Video Review: Renegade Hearts

26 Jun 2023 // A review by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

The Transits are a NZ-South African band composed of Ryan Lunn (vocals, guitars, synths), Dom Antelme (vocals, bass) and Tyrone Smith (drums). Growing up in conservative South-African landscapes, their sound is thought to push the boundaries of how to be, and how to act. Their new single/video Renegade Hearts is a sound, style and brand intrinsic to the band’s upbringing and efforts to push away from a culture that restricts one’s own identity and image. In their early days, getting into trouble was a natural result of playing in a rock band, and defying their surrounding societal norms. Striving for ingenuity comes at the risk of scrutiny, and hence my choice to take on their review and give context to why music with this mindset brings attention. 

Renegade Hearts is a well-mixed, and well-mastered track which opens with clean and solid drums, with a fun, distorted background fuzz and a glaze of synth-pop. The video displays a fun collage of postmodern clip art, similar to that made by Andy Worhol in the 1960’s. I do hear a Blink-182 influence, made with a hook-laden structure and attempt to break rules lyrically and stylistically. I enjoyed the lyrics depicting a society of “judgmental fools; their boxes and their rules” which draws the listener to conversations surrounding upbringing, and defying one’s own culture. The drumming and guitar blend well and take a solo moment in the track at about 2:18 which is catchy and clean, and heavy enough to draw feelings. 

As a listener of punk, pop-punk and metal myself, I do take a liking to the band’s branding and message. Why I chose to review The Transits is a good reason as to why I urge bands to delve even deeper into their punk-like assets. Punk defies norms, defies trends and defies popularity. Personally, I believe music of today is very much based on image and exposure which makes it harder to gain fans if it fully defies mainstream culture. I applaud the band's message to its listeners, and in fact beg the band to produce more. The essence of punk is to not only re-defy, disenfranchise, but also to scare. When I hear a band pushing into that realm, I always encourage more unpolished sound, more aggression, and better yet… more darkness and charisma! Now that alternative music has no bounds and no rules, why not go darker with the lyrics? Go heavier? What was it about conservatism that led you to form a rock band? What was it about sporting culture in South Africa that made you sick to your stomach? Did it make you angry? How angry!? 

Why I want to hear more tracks from The Transits is the same reason I want to give any pop-punk band a go; show me your emotions and how hard life got for you when you defied popular culture and searched for individualism. I think the potential this band has lies in their courage to delve further into that world. Stand in the darkness with us mere mortals, but also give us more of a voice... The darkness can be fun, not only creating resonance but also changing judgmental mindsets time and time again. It follows structure, and you can hear that they’ve been playing for a while (the trio formed 30 years ago to be exact). My two cents is that I’d love to hear more crunch, more “grrr”, more fed-up sarcasm… if you dare! The more songs that give essence to the chaotic world we live in, the better. I wonder if The Transits will take my feedback towards their next album perhaps... mess with the hooks, mess with the structure, get bassier, and in general keep producing sounds for the black sheep. I know if it needs to hit the radio, it might not be the heaviness we crave. However, while we’re “sticking it to the man”, we might as well tell him how mad we got in the process.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Transits

When the three original members of long-lost Durban, South Africa-based teen-punk band Cabbage reunited many years later under a new guise - the multinational The Transits - to record a song they hadn’t finished properly back in the day, they had no reasonable expectation they’d be issuing their debut self-titled album just over a year later. Yet, here we are.

Despite creating their music remotely - two of the band’s members (Dom Antelme - vocals, bass and Tyrone Smith - drums) are now based in Auckland, New Zealand, while one (Ryan Lunn - vocals, guitars, synths, production) still lives in Durban - they’ve channelled individual successes and experience in other bands and projects in the intervening years into The Transits - and they’ve made it sound effortless. Their compact, hard-hitting songs, possessing earworm melodies, classic pop-punk songwriting, searing guitar hooks and intricate production, have grabbed media attention and yielded instant success.

Within days of releasing their debut single, When You Went Away, the song was soundtracking NZ TV’s The Project, before receiving further international radio and music video TV spin. Two of the four singles released ahead of the album have charted in the top 40 in South Africa, with When You Went Away charting in the top 10. The band has had glowing features and reviews across major music media in the US, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, capped by a feature in Rolling Stone magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Transits

Releases

The Transits
Year: 2024
Type: Album
When You Went Away
Year: 2023
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

Banana Mundo - EP Review: Intercultural Appreciation Day
23 Apr 2024 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Banana Mundo are a collective band situated in New Plymouth (West Coast NZ) and hailing from various places around the world. The band comprises members from Argentina, Uruguay, Venezuela, France, Switzerland and New Zealand.
Read More...
Em - EP Review: Cloud City
10 Dec 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Emily Wheatcroft-Snape AKA Em is a singer songwriter, recording and mix engineer from Tamaki Makaurau. Her career thus far flaunts some serious musicality, working industriously towards her unique goals as an artist.
Read More...
No Life - EP Review: Delinquent
28 Aug 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
No Life returned to us with a 6-track EP. Band members DJ Fieldes, Mitch Blair, Connor Dickson and Kahi Bettridge have found gold with Delinquent.
Read More...
YAHYAH - Single/Video Review: Go
03 Apr 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Up and coming artist YAHYAH released her new single and video Go with nearly 7,000 streams on Spotify so far! She’s an electro-pop goddess from Aotearoa, hoping to make her entry to the big world of music.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lorde @ The Outer Fields, Western Springs - 04/03/2023
07 Mar 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Blue skies filled the days prior to the Lorde gig; the Solar Power tour had the sun visible and candescent. On March 4th in Western Springs, Tamaki Makaurau had not seen Lorde here for years, and some fans had even had their ticket waiting since 2021, when this third studio album was released.
Read More...
WoLF - Single Review: Underachiever
17 Feb 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
WoLF is a solo project (Aaron Hogg) with over 25 years' experience as a vocalist, guitarist and bassist. Having a lot of tour and show experience, WoLF is an accomplished artist with international acts and festivals under his belt.
Read More...
Tipare - Single Review: Party Calls
02 Jan 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Tipare dropped the single Party Calls to enliven the new beginnings of our post-pandemic world. She’s a singer songwriter who’s lived all around Aotearoa, having lived in New York as early as seventeen.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Oolala Feat. Sophie Gibson
05 Dec 2022 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Theajsound is a rising artist who just released a new track called Oolala. Sophie Gibson’s voice features in the radio edit, and it’s a tasty tune for sure!
Read More...
View All Articles By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem